Elaine Drouin's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • teacher
  • Bachelors in elementary school education from McGill
  • From Longueuil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Conquor the world, one couch at a time.

ABOUT ME

All about me... well to start off with the basics my name is Elaine, that's right Elaine like in Seinfeld. I am an elementary school teacher which might not sound exciting until you realize i get two months off per year.. jokes jokes, i love the children.

PHILOSOPHY

The one thing which we seek insatiable desire is to forget ourselves, to be surprised out of our propriety, to lose our sempiternal memory and to do something without knowing how or why; in short to draw a new circle. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiam. The way of life is wonderful; it is by abandonment.
-Emerson

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have moved to the NORTH OF QUEBEC. If you have a car..or awesome thumb skills, you should come. I live a beautiful Cree Reserve which is on the biggest lake in Quebec. You should come check out the Cree culture (I can bring you to a nearby village called Oujé-Bougamau) where there is a beautiful museum designed by Douglas Cardinal a world-renown architect, maybe you will get to witness some northern lights if you are lucky, I can probably hook you up with a ski-doo ride if it's winter time, you can participate in a crash course in Cree language with my students or experience the local culture in a place called Murrey's lodge...after 8 km of snowshoeing you will arrive to camp where elders of the community hunt, trap, cook food and make stuff. You will be served the day's catch and can learn how to make Cree mittens.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All around great experiences so far!

Interests

I play soccer, snowboard and bike but enjoy pretty much any type of physical activity.
I love nature(camping,hiking,kayaking etc)
I love coffee/teas
Concerts
Philosophy(mostly educational)
Painting

  • culture
  • architecture
  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • painting
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowshoeing
  • soccer
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I'm into things like SOJA atm ..open to so much in terms of music..I love going to concerts

Movies/shows..currently following Game of Thrones..not much else I'm watching atm

books...educational philo books(like John Dewey)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydived
Northern lights
A grizzly bear

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to order a sandwich in french and much more

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine’s full profile.