Elani de Wet's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elani’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Portuguese
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • TEFL Teacher, Database Developer
  • High School, Technical Certificarions, TEFL Certificate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a very fun loving adventurous type of person. In general I just love life and being alive. I signed up with couch surfers in 2016 just before I went to live in Brazil for a year. I stayed with several hosts while in Brazil and I've been able to host a few couch surfers myself. I absolutely love traveling and meeting people from different countries and cultures. I'm not your typical traveler who likes to stay at hotels, I prefer couch surfing or hostels. This way you get to meet locals and people from all over the world. I love learning new things and teaching others about my country.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am couch surfing because I think it is a brilliant way to meet people. I see it as a learning experience and a cultural exchange. I want to learn more about other people's culture and share with them my own culture and my experiences.

There is so much to learn from each other, and I find people fascinating. Each one of us have so much to give.

Interests

I love music, movies, dancing, outdoor activities, hiking, camping, scuba diving and most sports. I also enjoy reading and going to church. My main interest is people. I love socializing and meeting new people. I love learning about the way people think and their opinions about life and what it is that makes them tick.

  • horses
  • culture
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • drums
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • tennis
  • teaching
  • languages
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I love most music, accept music that has no meaning. I enjoy music that has a good beat and good lyrics. I love dancing.

I enjoy comedies, dramas and movies based on true events. I also enjoy fantasy and action movies. I don't like horrors or scary movies. It is difficult chosing a favorite, but some of my favorite's include Kill Bill, The Shawshank Redemption, Lord of the Rings, Ten things I hate about you, Terminator 2, Forest Gump, and many more.

I enjoy reading almost anything. I don't like books that are too depressing. I like books that are entertaining and not too tiring to read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I raised a child. A beautiful child who is amazing :) I've played with Lion cubs. I've held a crocodile and a python. I've rap jumped off the Soweto towers. I've been to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe and Iquacu Falls in Brazil I've lived in a foreign country for a year. I've learnt a new language. I've traveled with my daughter in Portugal and Spain.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like to help teach English. I'd like to learn Portuguese or Spanish. I'd like to share my life lessons and experiences with people. I can teach you how to yodel, do a handstand and cartwheels, make a hat out of a watermelon, play djembe drums, ride a horse and ice-skate.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my enthusiasm for life and my experiences. I am a very positive person and I love helping people. I hope to bring life and excitement and joy. I will cook a typical South African meal. I am an "expert" at making popcorn, and my popcorn tastes better than the popcorn you buy at the cinemas.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, France, Mauritius, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, South Africa, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Elani’s full profile.