Logo orange

Lluis Alvarez

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England

Maybe Accepting Guests

68% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lluis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • IT staff, social worker and travelle...
  • All the good which comes from dad an...
  • From Barcelona, Spain
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

keep the world and myself as balanced & happy! as possible

ABOUT ME

Grown up in a small village called Suria, in the centre of Catalonia, a mediterranian region from Spain, I said "bye mom, bye dad" at 17 and moved to Barcelona for partyin... I mean, for studying at the university.

Half a life latter... I look backwards and I think "hey man! look at all this! it's not bad, yeah?". Then I turn forwards and say "what the hell, it can be even better, let's rock!!".

Living between England and Barcelona, so you can find me here or there randomly.

PHILOSOPHY

Just flow in your way, like in a non-ending ecstasy... but never loose track about where you are going and what makes you move to go there.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Love meeting the CS´s in the area, attending CS events when possible and discovering new people around the world, being both guest or host.

If you are my host, please allow me to cook something from the Spanish gastronomic cuisine for you. I promise you will enjoy it!!:o)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

If I had to choose a couple from all the experiences CS has giving me back... I'd choose 1) The 3 days spent in Jerusalem with Shira, Shai and Yali, such a lovely family and 2) The days spent in Tours with the sunhitcher and Fabrice, both amazing men.

Interests

Crazy about cycling and trecking (specially around the english countryside since I arrived here!), drawing those who I love, writing everything I feel and relaxing in these great hidden pubs.

I also spent quite a big amounts of time in learning, practising and going deep in different techniques that contribute to the human being development and happiness as family physics, PNL, oriental philosophy, meditation techniques... in summary everything that helps to create higher levels of happiness, satisfaction and fullfillment to all beings.

Travelling and living so close to other cultures as I can. It allows me to see this small planet where we live from higher and higher... with a much better perspective. Hey, it's cool!

A quite ambitious initiative I'm working on involves aligning effort and time in order to reach a finantial independent way of life. This is more a marathon than a sprint, but patience and discipline are slowly giving their fruits.

Recently I´m being deeply involved in creating a Social Innovation Hub in Barcelona, trying to find solutions to the current situation the country is living. I´ve no doubt amazing things will come...

Music, Movies & Books

I like to have always 3 type of books around: a traveller's one, another related with inner growth or meditation and a third one close to underground themes autors as Pedro Juan Gutierrez, Tom Waits, Houellebecq, Hesse... try it, together they cover the needs for every moment!
Following spanish rock bands wherever they play... I miss spanish music so much here in UK!!
I love the sesions in the Melies and Renoir cinemas at Barcelona (even when my friend Charlie falls asleep! :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Anything where creativity is the must.

Running the Barcelona half marathon with all my brothers and sister in order to reach money for one of the local ngo's was such a beatiful experience as well.

Teach, Learn, Share

Some of the skills I have developed and would be very happy to share could be:
- Custom made travelling looking for living experiences more than visiting places.
- Energetic and healthy cooking in order t nurture body, mind and emotions.
- Downshifting at all levels centered in 1)Being 2)Doing 3)Having.
- Being more conscious of all little things and understanding the value and importance of "doing nothing".
- Buddist psychology, meditation techniques and yoga.
- Financial Intelligence in order to get Finantial Independence.
- Emotional Inteligence, how to deal with emotions and let them go.
- Trecking and long distance walks.
- Social innovation and human centered design.

Let's meet and see what we can do together.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Any of the previous skills are available for you :)

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Brazil, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Lluis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile