Logo orange

Eleanor Chan

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eleanor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Chemical Engineer
  • Tertiary Double Degree (Bachelor)
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Wanting to meet make friends with couchsurfers in Sydney until 9 April

ABOUT ME

Between 25 February and 9 April I am in Sydney for work. I am wanting to make friends with couchsurfers and attend events. Depending on my work accommodation, I might be able to host. First challenge is Mardi Gras!

I am using couchsurfing at the moment to meet new people and make friends with Melbourne locals and travellers. I live in Melbourne and grew up here. I'd love to show them what is so wonderful about Melbourne. I want to make new friends. Over the past 5 years, I've changed as a person and my friends haven't come along with me. It's time to get some more friends!

My motto in life is go hard or go home. I am the person who makes my decisions and once I've decided I never look back. I can't change the past but I do learn from it.

I enjoy travel as it opens my mind to new ways of thought and gives me new experiences. I visited Japan recently and really want to go back.

I am a busy girl. In 2013 I will take up field hockey again so I train on Tuesday nights and play a game on the weekend. I'm in the beginner group so our bonding is based on celebrating only losing by 1-2 goals rather than 10.

When I'm not hitting the gym or playing hockey, I love searching out yummy cheap eats or finding like minded foodies to splurge on great food. I also enjoy going to check out art exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria and enjoying a movie at independent cinemas.

On a more geeky note, if you know the difference between Star Trek and Star Wars, that would be awesome. Yes I am a closet Trekkie and I can't stand Star Wars, but fear not, I have no intentions of trying to assimilate you! (much).

...I also love watching Dr. Who.

PHILOSOPHY

Go hard or go home.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When travelling I'll stay with locals as much as possible and attend couchsurfing events.

In Melbourne I host events and attend local meet ups. I can't host at the moment as it would interfere with my family's household.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted
2012
November Disney day with Roxanne

Surfed
2012
3 November - Moet Itoh
8-11 November - Ally Baker
12-13 November - Matthew Golem

Interests

Field hockey, cooking new foods, reading a good book, relaxing at an onsen

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: The Secretary, Pan's Labrynth, The Usual Suspects

Music: Norah Jones, The Cat Empire

Books: Quantum Gravity series by Justina Robson

TV: Star Trek TNG, Fringe, Boston Legal

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Melbourne: Inaugural White Night event. It was an amazing night full of music, art shows, food, discovering Golden Vegemite and falling in love with Melbourne all over again.

Tokyo: Ueno Park in April experiencing hanami and the sakura. It was beautiful and amazing. I'm looking forward to having another amazing experience when I arrive in October!

Kobe: Kobe beef finished off by an amazing coffee at the end

Italy: Paggiamento in Florence on Christmas Eve.

Germany: Christmas markets drinking Gluwhein in Munich.

Amsterdam: Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam

Teach, Learn, Share

I am able to Teach English as a Second Language (TESOL) so I'd be happy to exchange conversations in English for a tour or a bed to sleep in.

I am also a chemical engineer in the water industry so if you need any advice for the Australian water industry then I'd be happy to help.

Countries I've Visited

China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Eleanor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile