Elena Buitrago's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Japanese
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Modern Languages Teacher
  • M.A. Spanish Language and Linguistics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Modern Languages teacher. I Speak Spanish, English, French and a bit of Japanese. Right now I'm a highschool English teacher. Meaning I'm very very patient.
I'm very close to my family, I love drawing and painting, I'm learning to play the guitar and some friends say I'm not a bad singer. I love swimming and playing basketball and tennis.
I love baking and making desserts, and I'm not so bad a kitchen assitant.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love languages and I would love to learn at least 10 of them (almost half-way yuuhuu) plus I've always wanted to travel around the world, meet new people and learn new cultures.

Interests

  • books
  • comics
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • languages
  • language exchange
  • sightseeing
  • parks
  • films
  • mythology
  • friends
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • amusement parks
  • comicbooks

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not a complicated person. I like a bit of everything. I like many things which may not have much in common. If we were to talk about music for instance, I don't have favorites and I'm really bad remembering artists' and song's names. I love all types of music depending on the moment, the mood or the company, except maybe reggaeton, vallenato and ranchera (I can enjoy them and I may stand listening to them, but... not for too long, I don't really like them).
There are so many books I love... I've been a bookworm since I was 11 and I tend to like complete series rather than just single books. To name a few books and authors: Garret Darius (Diary of a freedom writer: The experience), Dan Brown, Greg Iles (Mortal fear), Christine Feehan's Dark Series, Christopher Paolini, Jo Beverley, JR Ward, Stephen Chbosky (Perks of being a Wallflower), Stephenie Meyer (The Host), Stephen King (The Mist), Paulo Coelho (The Alchemist), William Paul Young (The Shack). I also like to read graphic novels, comics and Manga.
My favorite movies are action, detective mystery and Sci-fi movies like Mad Max (both Mel Gibson's and Tom Hardy's versions) Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Edge of Tomorrow, Pirats of the Caribean, Letal Weapon, Judge Dredd, John Wick, Harry Potter (I read the books too), The Hunger Games (I liked both the movies and the books), Indiana Jones, Blade Runner, Gattaca, Star Trek, Jurassic Park, Ghostbusters, 007, Mission: Impossible, Jason Bourn, Taken, Alien, Predator, Atomic, Gladiator. In general most of Tarantino's, Spilber's, Ridley Scott's and Tim Burton's movies. I'm also a fan of everything related to comics and Superheroes movies (Marvel, DC, Dark Horse...etc) so.. Dead Pool, Avengers, Hell Boy, X-Men, Batman, Thor, Dr. Strange, ghost in the shell, etc...

Recently I got hooked with Games Of Thrones, Vikings and Outlander...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I guess... volunteering as a Translator in 2009, 2010 and 2011 for the "Continuing Promise" . CP is a humanitarian mission that provides medical, dental and veterinary aid to people in Latin America.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enojoy teaching and learning languages and recipes. I can share my point of view and try to give advice if people want it. I consider myself a very down-to-earth woman and I try to see things from different perspectives before taking decisions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'd love to share theories about series, movies or book series. Share my language, my traditions and my culture.
I'm also good at listening to people sharing life experiences, I believe that's one of the best ways to learn about others' personalities and cultures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.