Elena Ekkert's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Russian, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Trainee at the EU Commission
  • M.A,
  • From Chelyabinsk, Chelyabinsk Oblast, Russian Federation
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

31, I like hiking, walking and cycling (albeit not the sporty kind but rather the convenient, nature-enjoying kind). I also like to swim, and here, again, in lakes and for enjoyment rather than sports.
While my education is located in the fields of social science, philology, cultural science, and history, I am also a painter who regularly receives orders for portraits and other kinds of painting. At the moment, I am working on some landscapes in oil. I have also painted some fantasy game scenes for my boyfriend and his friends.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

One reason for couchsurfing is that I'm just starting my career and don't have much money to pay for hotels when I have to travel.
Another reason is that this is a good way to make friends. And when you are in a foreign place, you learn more about the people and the place when you know someone who is local and can show and tell you things which are different from what a tourist guide would tell you, especially if you visit a place more than once and have already seen all the popular sites.

Interests

  • education
  • cooking
  • walking
  • traveling
  • painting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • history
  • science
  • social science
  • tourism
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a rather eclectic mix of genres, from heavy metal to jazz and r'n'b, and classics as well, though not so often. My favourite band right now is Queen, the earlier songs like "Killer Queen", but, basically I like everything except dubstep and rap and the like.
I do like movies of all kinds, as well. While comedies shouldn't display too shallow a humour, I did find "Scary Movie" and "Lord of the Weed" hilarious. I like horror movies but being impressionable as I am, I avoid them so I don't get nightmares. I also like action movies, but they have to have a decent plot, too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the last not amazing, but fun things I've done was jumping on the children's trampoline. You know these things where you are strapped on rubber bands to spikes and beneath you there is a trampoline, and you can jump and do somersaults without the actual danger of hurting yourself? For someone as clumsy as I am this is the perfect thing. And I wasn't ashamed that I was the only grown-up doing that, it was just fun :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Apart from my charming company and conversation (:P), I can share experiences, cooking skills, and a lot of fun

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Italy, Kazakhstan, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Canada, Germany, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile. It’s free!