Elena Sabella's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 98 references 66 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Translator & Tour Leader
  • Translation and Interpreting
  • From Sesto Fiorentino, Florence, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I came back to my hometown after a 3+ years of traveling in South America. I had to pause my trip due to Covid-19, but nomadic life is still as tempting as ever. Until I decide to give in to temptation again, I am eager to host/meet fellow travellers and like-minded people.
I live in Sesto Fiorentino (see MyHome) and I work from home as a translator.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CS because you give expecting nothing in return, but you get so much.
CS because you receive thinking you give nothing in return, but you give so much.
Since I started using CouchSurfing I have received SO MUCH in terms of love, care, food, shelter, unique experiences, family life, friends for a lifetime. It is definitely one of my favorite ways of traveling and experience the country/city/village like a local.

Interests

Nomadic soul, I love traveling on top of anything else. I go crazy about the smallest things, like camping under the stars, a good conversation around a fire, walking barefoot, drinking mate by a river, sharing a healthy meal, hiking in the woods, listening to the birds singing, the smell of the yellowish pages of an old book, getting my hands dirty, wide smiles and bear hugs.
I have a plant-based diet (vegan) and try to live my life as sustainable as possible.
I love writing and started a travel blog before my SA trip, thebackpackersway.com (@thebackpackersway) that needs some freshen up though lol :)

  • writing
  • literature
  • photography
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • gymnastics
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains
  • food
  • people
  • feminism
  • foreign languages
  • travel blogging
  • environmentalism
  • zero waste

Music, Movies, and Books

- Fav book of all times that still keeps me dreaming: Harry Potter. Also: anything by Luis Sepúlveda, Eduardo Galeano, Ildefonso Falcones, Wild, Tracks. Not sure if it can apply, but I love studying maps, best if old ones :)
- Music: Italian music from the 70s/80s, mainly Fabrizio de André. Folk music, mostly from South America, currently listening to a lot of Argentinian music such as chacarera and chamamé, José Larralde, Atahualpa Yupanki, Mercedes Sosa, Raly Barrionuevo. Also Mannarino, Modena City Ramblers, Inti Illimani, Calle 13, Manu Chao, Bebe, Shak, etc.
- Movies: Anything I can learn from, mainly movies that tell stories inspired on real facts.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walked the Camino de Santiago in Spain, Barborská Cesta in Slovakia, Caminho das Missoes in Brazil, now planning the whole Vie Francigene (Canterbury to Apulia) for sometime in the near future;
Went on a revealing trip in Costa Rica, got back to Slovakia where I was working at the time and quit my job to travel.
Solo traveled for over three years in South America, hitchhiked off the beaten roads, camped in crazy spots, ate crazy foods, navigated the Amazonia on a cargo boat and took part in an ayahuasca ceremony in Peru, spent two days with lama-farmers in Argentina, lived with a Hare Krishna community in Chile, became friends with total strangers, LIVED.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn anything the other person is willing to share, I have diverse interests and always curious to expand my knowledge. I know very little about music, but if you play or sing I'll be delighted to hear you.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hugs, laughs, smiles. Veg food for the body and the soul. Travel stories over a glass of wine (or two). Time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mauritius, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Mauritius, Paraguay, Slovakia, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.

My Groups