Eli Andrade's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 31 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Research
  • Sociocultural Anthropology and Public Health
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm originally from the San Diego/Tijuana region.

I've been using couchsurfing for some years now and have had really pleasant experiences meeting new people from all over. I'm queer, open-minded, and respectful of others. I work doing research and love my work.

I moved to Pittsburgh recently for graduate school. I’m doing a PhD in Behavioral and Community Health Sciences doing research on HIV and human rights with LGBT people. Would love to meet people with similar interests.

I can't always host now that I am in Pittsburgh, but I'm always open to meeting travelers.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Every time I have traveled I've been fortunate to run into kind people willing to help, guide, or assist in any way they can. I believe couchsurfing gives me the opportunity to do the same with those visiting the city where I live. I am specially open to offering a safe space for queer people traveling.

Interests

  • human rights
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Some authors I like: Ursula K. Leguin, Judith Butler, Eduardo Galeano, Octavia Butler, Frantz Fanon, Pierre Bourdieu, Philip K. Dick, Audre Lorde, Nancy Scheper-Hughes.

Some music: Frank Rosolino, J.J. Johnson, Raul de Souza, Nina Simone, Les Tetes Raides, Willie Colón, Hector Lavoe, Ray Barretto, Spam Allstars, Erik Truffaz, Sidestepper, Philip Glass, Chancha Via Circuito.

Some films: Underground, Snatch, Revolver, La plata quemada, Machuca, Delicatessen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing the Guatemala-Mexico border
Crossing the Gibraltar strait
Camping in the

Teach, Learn, Share

Spanish (México)
Mexican food recipes

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Chad, Colombia, France, Guatemala, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Qatar, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile. It’s free!