Logo orange

Ellen Maxwell

Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Cancer Research Scientist
  • PhD
  • From Norwich, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Slowly make my way around the world...

ABOUT ME

I've just moved to Liverpool for 6 months for work.

Love travelling and have just discovered cycle touring. After my studies I managed 2 months cycling in NZ before falling off my bike and breaking my collar bone. Still looking to do some shorter cycle tours around the UK.

PHILOSOPHY

Never say never

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Only couchsurfed so far but would love to host in the future when I have some roots and a couch!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My couchsufing experience has mainly been in the USA - Chicago, Lafayette, Milwaukee, Boston and Philadelphia. Also Taipei. Also been to a few Barcelona and Budapest meet ups, and in Rio de Janeiro. Has been amazing so far!! I'm definitely of the school that couchsurfing is about immersing yourself in a culture and place, and the people, rather than a free place to stay.

Interests

Cycle touring!

I love live music - indie, folk, punk, reggae, or anything really!...

I love wierd and unusal places, strange museums (taxidermy and things in jars are always good) and places off the beaten track

Sitting by a river on a sunny day
I'm much happier having a picnic in a park rather than sitting in a posh restaurant

I love dogs! There's not a happier sight than a wagging tail

I love playing the piano - not so well, but I love playing! I can also play bass guitar - played in punk bands for about 10 years up until a few years ago (Ha- didn't have to be a good musician for that!)

I'm vegetarian, I also LOVE comedy programmes, love reading, cycling, and dogs...

I'd like to travel more. One day I'd love to cycle around the world. Knowing me, it will happen.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Snuff, New Bomb Turks, NoMeansNo, Minutemen, Leatherface, Black Flag, Screeching Weasel, The Clash, Rural Alberta Advantage, Beirut, Mumford and Sons etc The Slackers, Toots and the Maytals The Specials
Films: In Bruges, Pans Labyrinth, Delicatessen, Amelie, Everything is Illuminated, Eternal Sunshine...,

I love comedy shows like Only Fools, Inbetweeners, Sarah Silverman, Father Ted, Peep Show, Alan Partridge, Curb Your Enthusiasm, the Office (UK of course)...Books - I like loads of types. I always have a few on the go. Trying to read some classics. Love crime novels and travel books. Favourites: Shantaram, Gulag Archipelago, Shrimpy, Wild Swans, Life of Pi, Jo Nesbo, Timewaster Letters. Anything about cycling, running, walking, motorcycling, sailing the world!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

visited 24 states (10.6%)Create your own visited map of The World or Amsterdam travel guide for Android
Motorcycling through India and Laos
Paragliding in Nepal
Teaching English and staying with a family in West Sumatra
On tour with a punk band in Jakarta
Partied on an 82nd floor in Chicago
Swimming in luminescence in Thailand
Cycling taroko gorge and the vertigo trail

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmm... there must be something I can put here...
I could teach beginner piano or bass guitar
I'm always up for learning something new...

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Poland, Spain, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile