Ellen Barrett's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Medical School
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Been Traveling off and on for the last 3 years, after meeting so many amazing people from around the world I have been inspired to start hosting now that I have come back!

ABOUT ME
I'm studying medicine at Lunds University, meaning that what I actually do is take multiple-choice tests and try not to faint while our professors ramble on about one disgusting (but interesting!) thing or the other. I am quite busy during the weeks with school, NGO-work, language cafés, and my hobbies but will work with the time I have to give you the best experience!

Traveling has always been one of my greatest interest, which has always been made better by locals! Now looking for new people to take part in my escapades, whether it is partying, debating, philosophical conversation, or crashing a multimillionaires private island party by accident (Only happened once!)

PHILOSOPHY
I believe in giving back as much as you take from this world, which is one of the reasons I want to eventually work with doctors without borders.

I appreciate creativity, passion, and spontaneity to no end - Sticking to the plan no matter what never gets you anywhere fun. Insanity in moderation is key to a brilliant life in my opinion.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing to make new friends from all over the world and show tourists around the crazy university town of Lund.

Interests

Literature, philosophy and language have always been the big three. I volunteer a lot of my time: working with disaster medicine, refugees and infectious disease research. I'm also training martial arts. If you're into genetic engineering, I will bug you to no end with discussions about it.

Other than that I do yoga, love clubbing and am active within animal rights groups and other volunteer organizations. Some gaming and dabbling in other areas as well, including but not reserved to: Adrenaline-sports, hiking, diving and dance (mainly modern/reggeaton)

I am basically an olympic champion in pub crawls.

  • animals
  • wildlife
  • culture
  • literature
  • tattoos
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • pub crawls
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • whitewater rafting
  • snorkeling
  • skiing
  • paragliding
  • history
  • languages
  • medicine
  • psychology
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • nature
  • trekking
  • biking
  • diving
  • caving
  • canyoning
  • rapelling
  • bungy jumping

Music, Movies, and Books

My taste varies from day to day - Constantly fall in love over and over again with:
- Trainspotting
- Metro 2033
- A Song of Ice and Fire
- George Orwell / Aldous Huxley
- The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
-Spinoza
- Huge fantasy nerd (I have a Game of thrones quote tattoed).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bungy jumping in South Africa is definitely up there, the magical martian landscape of the Danakil depression in Ethiopia, swimming with sharks in Australia and so many more. Also a thousand crazy university stories and from meeting the locals whenever I've been traveling, but if you're intrigued i guess I will have to tell you in person :D

Teach, Learn, Share

I can mix up a couple of drinks for you (bartending degree) and probably look at that thing you have that you want to checked up, but, you're scared to call the doctor for :D I can also teach you some spanish (or swedish, but nobody really asks for that).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great stories (and escapades), knowledge about swedish culture and language, the secret purpose of life, and so on.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen’s full profile.