Ellen Polfliet

Gent, East-Flanders, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch; learning Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Sports teacher
  • P.E. in Ghent
  • From Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to discover what ingredients can make "42" nice and spicy


Nothing more fun than spending time with friends! Mostly while doing one of these things: go for a climb, go windsurfing (if the weather is nice), swimming, running, cycling, hiking, sometimes go orienteering (running in the woods with a map),... and recently learnt diving, paragliding and kayaking. I also want to get better at slackline. As you see I'm interested in almost everything. Sitting alone in my couch isnt really possible for me. Going out, chatting, drinking is also considered as time well spent.
I'm not so much of a story-teller. I'm more of an enjoyer. If you really want to know about me, check www.ellenopreis.wordpress.com
I'm a happy person, but always this little bit more happy in the sun.


My way of life is to live in the present. Take decisions by following your own feelings and be inspired by decisions of others. Avoid the possibility to say "i wish i had done this or that" in the future.

I love the quote "there is no way to happiness, happiness is the way"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I first surfed couches in China already a long time ago, 2009 or something, and i really liked both the idea and the people we met. Since 2011 I finally have the opportunity to host myself, so i'm more than happy to give something in return!

... and now I enjoy it even more. I love it to invite people into my life or to just step into someone else's life for some days. See how they think, eat, sleep, act, smell, breath, spend their time... It's so much more than traveling!


First CS experience was in China in 2009, with the account of a friend. It was fun, meeting people (mostly foreigners) there and spending time with them.
Then in 2011 I created my own account. Joined CS parties in Belgium and started hosting people:
June - from Malaysia and Spain
August - from Israel
August - from Mexico
And after from Spain, Turkey,
In the mean time I surfed some more:
July - to Bulgaria and Spain
August - to Mallorca

So far every new experience was rock 'n roll, so i'm not planning to end it!!


meet up with friends, climbing, swimming, exploring nature, running, cycling, orienteering, windsurfing, see movies, go to (small) concerts, discover new music through friends, play games, travel...

I'm interested in (almost) EVERYTHING

...and traveling of course...

Traveled countriesMake yours @ BigHugeLabs.com

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: action movies, pixar movies, the mainstream hollywood movies, movies with Johnny Depp. Don't really like comedies, romantic movies, series,...
Music: wide range of rock, pop, jazz,... Old music (80's). Don't really like classic music
Books: i don't read a lot. If you catch me reading ill probably be reading a travel guide. But one book I liked was Paulo Coelho's Alchemist.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One? Seriously? I cannot choose...
-Nature, everywhere!
-Climbing in all different spots in the world
-Hiking in Norway
-Camino Del Rey in Spain
-Waterfall in Bulgaria
-Hiking in Picos de Europa
-Lava lake in Ambrym, Vanuatu
-more on (www.ellenopreis.wordpress.com)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a teacher but i find it hard to describe what exactly I can teach someone...
I can teach you how to enjoy, how to make pancakes (in Belgium), how to climb, how to improve your sports skills, where to find the best ice cream in ghent?

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups