Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 37 References 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Croatian, French, Italian, Portuguese
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Road tripping around the States!


Hello! I'm Ellie from England and Couchsurfing has been injecting my life with curiosity and adventure for around 8 years now. I've hosted, surfed and had the fortune to meet amazing people all over the world. At the moment I'm on a road trip from Canada through Oregon, Washington and California with 2 awesome girlfriends who both also have a lot of Couchsurfing experience and references.

We would love to meet locals and fellow likeminded travellers! So far we've been camping most of the way but it would be great to couchsurf/ lawnsurf (garden camping) if possible. We are well equipped!

If you are up for an adventure or hosting us please get in touch. We love nature but it's definitely the people who make road trips so memorable.


You live and learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am looking to meet interesting, fun and open minded people to share part of this rollercoaster adventure with me. I love nothing more than to meet like minded strangers, hang out, do something new together and hopefully become friends. I've been lucky enough to host some brilliant individuals and most of them have stayed in touch.


He hecho couchsurfing en Japón, España, Francia el Reino Unido y ahora Sudamérica. Tambien me encanta ser anfitrión en Glastonbury, he hecho unas amistades geniales y aprendido mucho. El hecho de haber sido anfitrión me ha hecho mas respetuosa y concienciada de lo que significa ofrecer hospitalidad a un desconocido.

I have surfed in Japan, Spain, France, the UK and South America. Whilst surfing is amazing I also love to host people in my hometown Glastonbury, I've made some brilliant friends and learnt so much. Having been a host has made me more aware of what it means to offer hospitality and friendship to a stranger, which in turn has made me a more thoughtful and respectful couchsurfer.


My interests include photography, dancing, theatre, stand up comedy, travel, feminism, socialism, crafting, making things, foraging wild edibles and cooking adventurously.

  • photography
  • glastonbury
  • dancing
  • womens rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • indian food
  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • hinduism
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a massive Almodóvar fan. The last few years I've mostly been reading Lorca, Cortázar, Manuel Puig, Paz, Garcí­a Márquez, Benedetti, Donoso and I struggled through Ulysses with astounding ignorance. I also love the work of Argentine playwright Griselda Gambaro, what a woman!

Music? Bowie, Belle and Sebastian, Beirut, Beach House, Bikini Kill, Broadcast, Bjork. And other bands that don't begin with 'B'.
I also LOVE all sorts of Latin American music, too much to list here and probably lots of names I don't really know. Celia Cruz, ahhhh!!! I want to learn more about it though, any recommendations hit me up.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Free diving the second and third biggest barrier reefs in the world in Colombia.
Iguazu falls in Brazil/Argentina absolutely blew me away.
Travelled around Japan, mental.
I travelled around Cuba for a month and I found it so fascinating I've decide to apply for a masters in Cuban studies in America.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a qualified teacher of Spanish, I teach advanced Spanish in a college in London, more than happy to share that with fellow couch surfers.
I love to cook and share food with people. I am vegetarian, my mum is Hindu and has taught me how to cook wonderful Indian food. I've had couchsurfers I hosted send me parcels of delicious food and ingredients from their countries, so sweet. I can teach basics about photography and how to use a sewing machine...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food, friendly and hopefully interesting conversation, travel tips and stories, fun nights out and last minute adventures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups