Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elsje’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • studying a lot
  • Veterinary student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

attempting to get through this veterinary degree one day at a time. Hanging out with my dog and boyfriend, and dreaming of dropping everything and running of to India... or somewhere... because my current dream is so much work >.<

ABOUT ME

I've been traveling my whole life.

But the travel that I chose for myself includes across the continental US. Stayed for a bit on the West/East/middle of the country.

Currently in NZ persuing a degree in vet med and enjoying the outdoorsey lifestyle.

PHILOSOPHY

Love and do whatever you wish

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I did some visiting and travelling a few years ago, and then I got incredibly busy. Hoping to find some time for far off adventures again.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Spring break I crashed at the friend of a friend's house in Kentucky. Her home ended up being on the huge equine facility owned by an Arab Shiq! It was the coolest/nicest horse facility I've ever seen.

Couch surfed in Philadelphia and loved it. My host Deborah was amazing. Another local CSer volunteered to spend a day showing us (there was another traveler with me) around for a day. Philly is filled with friendly people, and amazing CSers. My second night I was taken to a CS house party. The people were welcoming, the conversation was easy. The trip was great and I can't wait to do it again.

Interests

I develop themes. Right now I'm on a sarcastic writers theme and am planning a binge read of Terry Pratchett, JD Salinger, Vonnegut...ect. recommendations are welcome!

Tomorrow's theme might be water color paintings or pen doodling, or HIIT workouts. Who knows.

... It'll probably be studying ... but it would be those other things if studying wasn't everything!

  • horses
  • coffee
  • partying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • tourism
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Good Omens is currently my favorite, but I'll read almost anything and everything.

I like classical music, instrumental music -especially piano, and rock of all kinds. Blink 182, Green Day, all that teenage angst greatness.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Done:
Took an afternoon trick riding course, got to hang off the side of the saddle while galloping full on and had to jump back into the saddle.

Seen:
pick any view in NZ, they're all gorgeous and worth the time and effort it takes to visit.

Teach, Learn, Share

I just want to learn about the cultures and places of where I'm going. I'll share mine to whoever wants to visit too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A friendly face? a sarcastic wit? Interesting (to me) but irrelevant medical knowledge about their cat? I can do it all!

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, South Africa, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elsje’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups