Elodie Banel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elodie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Engineer
  • Master's degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

French people tell me I'm american; american people, that I'm french. Born in France, I grew up in the suburbs of Paris until I was 10 years old, when my family moved to Hawaii, and then returned to Paris at 18 for university. I ended up loving Paris, and I still live here now doing computer science work.
What I most enjoy when traveling is doing things -- I tend to prefer biking by a beautiful museum then eating at a restaurant nearby than visiting it! I'm always up for discovering new places, activities and foods!

En France, on me dit que je suis americaine; aux etats-unis, que je suis francaise. Née en France, j'ai grandis en region parisienne jusqu'a mes 10 ans, quand ma famille a demenager a Hawaii; puis je suis revenue a 18 ans pour aller a l'universite. J'ai adore Paris, et j'habite encore ici aujourd'hui, travaillant dans l'informatique.
Ce que j'aime le plus en vacances, c'est faire des choses -- j'ai tendance a préférer faire un tour a velo devant un musee puis manger dans un resto du coin que d'aller le visiter! Je suis toujours prete a decouvrir de nouveaux endroits, de nouvelles activites, et de nouveaux plats!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling, but sometimes I feel like eating in the best restaurants listed on yelp and seeing the sights listed on tripadvisor don't give as interesting a view of a place as living "as a local" might. I'm joining couchsurfing with the hope to meet exciting people who'll help me discover a slice of their everyday life in their cities!

J'adore voyager, mais je trouve que parfois visiter les lieux les mieux notes sur internet ne donne pas une experience aussi interessante que celle de visiter la ville "comme un local". Je m'inscrit a couchsurfing en esperant rencontrer des personnes fascinantes qui me feront decouvrir les plus beaux aspects de leur vie de tout les jours!

Interests

I'm obsessed with books. Mostly fiction, open to all genres but I have a weak spot for (any and all kinds of) magic. I also love lego, trampoline, cooking, (EATING!), hiking, high-adrenaline sports such as canyoning, white water rafting, and more!

Je suis passionnee de lecture. Surtout la fiction en tout genre, avec un penchant particulier pour tout ce qui touche a la magie. J'adore aussi les lego, le trampoline, faire la cuisine, MANGER!, la randonnee, les sports tels que le canyoning, le raft, et autre!

  • cats
  • books
  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • traveling
  • magic
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • computer science
  • science
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Ah, darn, I already talked about books in the previous box! As an incredibly indecisive person, I can't begin to talk favorites... how could I decide?! I am a big fan of Tamora Pierce, Garth Nix, Robert Jordan, Terry Pratchett to list a few of the more well-known authors.
I'm not as much a fan of music and movies to be quite honest... :)

Ah, flute, j'ai deja parle de livres dans la boite precendente. En tant que personne extrement indecise, j'ai du mal a choisir des favoris, mais pour lister quelques-uns des plus connus je suis tres fans de Tamora Pierce, Garth Nix, Robert Jordan, Terry Pratchett...
Je suis moins fan de la musique et des livres pour etre honnête.. :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've gone on a 2 week, 700km biking and camping trip along the Loire from Orleans to the ocean, with absolutely no habit of regular exercise or practice before the trip. I'm still amazed we survived that one without giving up halfway through!

J'ai fait un voyage de 2 semaines et 700km a velo le long de la Loire, d'Orleans a St Nazaire, en ne faisant aucun sport regulier avant! Je reste surprise qu'on ait reussi a le faire sans abandonner a mi-chemin ... ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I make a living as a programmer, so I can teach some programming basics if you're interested. I'm also bilingual in french and english, so I can teach basics there as well.
I can also teach you how to efficiently taste the most dishes possible at all-you-can-eat buffets, how to convince stray cats you are a friend, and how to do a flip on a trampoline. As long as you provide the stray cat/trampoline/buffet ;)

Je travaille en tant qu'informaticienne, donc je peux enseigner les bases de la programmation. Je suis aussi bilingue anglais/francais, donc je peux enseigner les bases la aussi.
De plus, je peux vous apprendre comment gouter le plus de plats possibles aux buffets a volonte, comment convaincre les chats de rue que vous etes leur ami, et comment faire un salto au trampoline. Du moment que vous fournissez le trampoline/le chat/le buffet! ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can bring all manners of food and beauty products over from paris. I can also share french or english discussion, a passion for most things geeky, and a growing love of exciting sports!

Je peux ramener de la nourriture et des produits de beaute de paris (bon, pour quelqu'un en france, c'est surement moins interessant que pour ceux a l'etranger... ;) ). De plus je peux partager des discussions en anglais ou francais, une passion pour la plupart des choses geeks, et un nouvel amour pour les sports extremes!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Martinique, Morocco, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elodie’s full profile. It’s free!