Emilie Colonier's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emilie’s full profile.


  • 29 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Romanian, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Primary teacher
  • Early Second Language Acquisition
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm someone open-minded, very curious about anything. I love discovering new things and new people, especially the people living in the places where I travel. My friends say I am trustworthy and resourceful.
I spent several years living abroad doing different things but all related to children, teaching, and languages. I really enjoyed all these experiences because they were real cultural exchanges and now I long to go back abroad!
I am currently a teacher in the UK, just outside of London.

Soy una maestra francesa en Inglaterra. Me gusta mucho visitar y vivir en lugares nuevos, raros, y encontrar y chatear con viajadores como yo. Me gustan mucho las lenguas (obviamente ^^), cocinar, leer, tocar la guitara, hacer senderismo...

Je suis une étudiante et enseignante française. Je viens d'un tout petit village de l'ouest de la France, mais je souhaite vivre à l'étranger. J'adore voyager, rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, découvrir des cultures et façons de penser différentes. Parmi mes intérêts on trouve : les langues, cuisiner, voyager, faire de la randonnée, lire...

Emilie dw i. Dw i'n dod o Ffrainc. Dw i'n athros a myfyriwr. Dw i'n bwy yn Caerdidd a dw i'n mwynhau Cymry.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am a big adept of sharing experiences. I car-pool very often, and couch-surfing is just one more thing about sharing! I think it's great to be in complete immersion when visiting a place, living with local inhabitants. You learn about their way of life, good places to visit in the surroundings, and often you just make friends!
It is especially convenient when you travel on a budget too.
I realized one summer when staying in a hostel that it just wasn't the same kind of experience, which is why I try to couchsurf everywhere I go.


I like reading, listening to music, playing the guitar.
Love cooking and discovering new cooking methods and flavors.
Enjoy traveling very much.
I wish I had more time to learn the guitar.

  • arts
  • education
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

I am very fond of Ben Howard (an amazing British guitarist). Generally speaking I listen to all kind of music : pop, rock, folk (and covers), indie, some electronic music occasionally, jazz sometimes...
A few examples: Arctic Monkeys, Boulevard des Airs, George Ezra, Philip Philips, the XX, Queen of Katwe's soundtrack, Ludivico Einaudi, Tryo, Mathieu Chedid, C2C, Saycet, Ed Sheeran, Alt-J, Ours, Renan Luce, Zaz, Yodelice, Les Cowboys Fringants, Imany, Irma, Charlie Winston, Adele, Skip the Use, Puggy, Fall out Boy, Fauve, Cat Stevens, Shaka Ponk, Bernhoft, Angus & Julia Stone, Sella sue, Juanes, Manu Chao, The Black Keys, Sia, Phoenix...
I wish I had seen more movies, though I really liked "Into the Wild" and "The Man of UNCLE". I recently discovered Khairon and I really enjoyed his movies.
I used to read so much. Now I try reading in as many languages as possible. At the moment I am also reading a lot about pedagogy etc. Recently I read about NonViolent Communication (M. Rosenberg) and a teaching experience (Les lois naturelles de l'enfant, C. Alvarez).
I'm a big fan of the Divergent series. I also enjoy reading Katherine Pancol, and liked Q&A by Vikas Swarup. (Just to name a few...)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not that it is amazing, but I used to travel without an access to the internet, which I think is quite of a challenge these days ^^
The Salcantay Trek in Peru independently, with my brother and another fellow couchsurfer. An amazing experience, walking all day long with the huge and heavy backpacks, up and down the mountains and hills, just enjoying the views and our stove-cooked dinner at night (hear 5pm).
Randomly meeting awesome people while hiking, visiting places... : a Chinese student in Atlanta who then taught me some Tai chi; an English man in a hostel who went hiking the same way; a photograph in Bergerac who was doing a project similar to Humans of NY, but in a café; a student who wanted to become a tour guide and gave me a tour of Lima...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show how to make Brazilian (lucky charm) bracelet, French braid, Spanish tortilla.
I can tell you more about language learning for young children, and the Montessori education.
I think that anyone can learn from anyone else by sharing experiences and points of view. So I might not have concrete stuff to teach you, but we might just get both enriched by just having a conversation :) And you can ask me questions in any of the interests I have listed.
I am a good listener too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like exchanging about food, travels, education, music...
I can definitely try to cook some French dish, although don't ask me for my favorite one, it's so hard to choose ;-)
If you happen to have a guitar at hand, why not playing some traditional French songs?

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Peru, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, Ireland, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Emilie’s full profile.

My Groups