Emily Hughes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 41% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Bay Area, CA, native who lives in SF. Extremely laid back and down to earth, maybe questionably to a flaw :P I'm your basic California girl. I love spending a sunny (or foggy) day at the beach, trying to consume my weight in Mexican food and failing, getting lost in the red wood forests just north of my city. A collector of random hobbies; master in few of said hobbies. Really good at not taking things seriously and going with the flow.

After graduating from college with a B.A. in Sociology, like most people in SF, I found myself working for a start up. Didn't take me long to realize life behind a computer screen was not for me. So I left and got into working with kids.
I've always had a strong urge to explore life beyond my comfort zone, testing my mental and physical limits , and to meet beautiful and kindred spirits along the way. I firmly believe every person and experience has a mark on us that shapes in one way or another. We all share a human connection, but sometimes we need reminding of this.
This is why traveling is so special to me.
I didn't get the chance to travel much during my college years or take a gap year, so I'm just getting started on my backpacking game, and there's not stopping me now!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people and exchanging stories and customs . I would like to help fellow surfers in any way I can as they navigate through their travels.

I'll be traveling to Europe around the end of July/early August, starting in the U.K., France, Italy, Spain, and then whatever else comes up!
Still trying to figure out the best routes, and am trying to leave some of my travels a bit open ended. Since I'll being relying on CS during my own trip, I want to connect and help out fellow travels and maybe get some advice on solo traveling!

Interests

Anything that gets me outside. Love really long hikes/trail runs and camping trips, or even just exploring on my bike in my city. Nature is my happy place! Huge music lover, so I'm always looking for new concerts to attend. Photography, art, cooking, reading, trying new fitness classes. I'm into a lot of different things, so I'm never bored!

  • arts
  • books
  • photography
  • concerts
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • music
  • jazz
  • outdoor activities
  • backpacking
  • trail running

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything and everything! My taste is always expanding, though I primarily listen to blues, neo-soul, and all the various sub genres of alternative/indie.
I love movies and books that maybe reflect or challenge current society and perceptions of the world. Currently reading a lot of feminist literature.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: gardening, Vegan cooking if it interests you...
Learn: language, Food, culture
Share: music, laughs, stories, experiences

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good vibes✌🏻 and engaging conversation. I love to share stories and have intellectual discussion of life's wonders. I'm also a fairly decent cook, and am more than willing to share some cooked meals and a glass of wine with my hosts. I love spending the time getting to know people.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!