Emily Potts's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Social Work
  • B.S. in Social Entrepreneurship
  • From Hermiston, OR, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Traveling has always been a part of my life. Since before I can remember my family was taking trips to Guatemala to visit my mom's side of the fam.

I currently am a Healthy Families Home Visitor and am saving to get back on the adventure path. Unfortunately I'm not in a position to host anyone, but I can't wait for the time when I will be able to! For now, I am pretty new to Couchsurfing and am excited to meet ya'll and connect!

Interests

I love to hike and just be in nature. A good cup of coffee with either conversation with another or some time to just people watch and reflect is high on the list as well. I dabble in photography here and there. I especially love film when I can get my hands on some new rolls :)

  • books
  • photography
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • bouldering
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • travel
  • social justice
  • learning new things
  • smiles

Music, Movies, and Books

Depending on my mood I'll listen to anything from Thievery Corporation to Local Natives to Asgeir to Bob Dylan. Folk, Jazz, Deep House, Rock, Indie/Alternative, Funk... I could go on and on. I appreciate it all. I love listening to people's favorites and getting an earful of new sounds!

Movies: 180 Degrees South, Good Will Hunting, Star Wars, lots of documentaries and all the movies based on the books below :)

Books: LOTR, Harry Potter, Into the Wild, and anything related to social justice issues. Currently I'm moseying through "I Know why the Caged Bird Sings" by Maya Angelou.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most current amazing thing I have done (or maybe better described as experienced) is working with the families I serve at my current job. I get to share life with them, the good, the bad, and everything in between as I provide information about child development and community resources. It's pretty neat :)

Travel-wise: I climbed Tajumulco with friends and scrambled up to the top in the wee hours of the morning. We experienced the sunrise above all the clouds in front of us, the Pacific and city lights of Mexico behind us, and another volcano erupting off in the distance on the side of us. It was magical to say the least.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to learn more about sustainable agriculture and small farming/gardening. I'm not afraid to get dirty :)

I can play some simple chords on the guitar and sing a few songs. I'll teach what I know!

I really just love to get to know people and hear their story if they are willing to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Guatemala, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!