Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 90 References 59 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese (Simplified), German, Portuguese
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • University, self
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Hmmmm...

ABOUT ME

***Please read this section to the end***
Hi, Everyone! I'm a silly, affectionate, outgoing girl who tends to connect with others quickly..Lover of life, lover of love, lover of fun, grateful for each new day and the opportunity it promises...just trying to spread love and healing to the world. My values are rock-solid, though my goals and emotions change a lot-- my impulse is to try to outrun the chatter of my mind with constant change. In fact, I need to slow down sometimes and find peace within the quiet of my mind. I seek freedom, which probably explains why I am happiest on the road. I love minimal and unstructured travel (backpacking, hitchhiking, and leaving lots of space for spontaneity). And I really love the idea of connecting with strangers through couchsurfing. So send me your requests!

Update: I just moved to Ningbo, China, where I got a job as a college counselor. This has been a huge change from my cozy waterside apartment in Florida. If you are seeking an authentic Chinese experience, I'm probably not your gal. But if you'd still like to connect with me, you are welcome :) .. and if I'm in town, there's a 95% chance I can host you!

CS to me has never been about just finding a couch to crash for the night. It's a mutually-enriching exchange of good energy, skills, experience and culture, and on many occasions CSers have become friends that I reconnect with all over the world :) So please send a personalized request!

Oh, and please, No Homophobes!... guess why :)

PHILOSOPHY

Love yourself. Love others.

The world is healing and it's starting with me!

Treat all with kindness.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing, meetings, community! I <3 CS!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed with or hosted at least 130 CSers at this point. I have surfed in my home country (the US), England, Ireland, Denmark, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Bulgaria, and the Netherlands.. I have hosted in England, the US (Florida), Bulgaria, and China.. I've gone to CS meetups.. Found travel companions through CS groups when I was traveling solo .. Arranged rides.. Stayed in CS camps at Transitions Festival '11 and BOOM '12...Built a network of friends all over the world with CS. Currently, hosting in China

Interests

Well, I'm a musician - I've worked as a drummer on and off for years for all kinds of bands and genres, but I'm also a singer/songwriter and play several other instruments. Whether I'm playing or just listening, music truly moves me, and helps me experience love and Oneness.

I love being active outdoors, in the sun, or on the water: hiking/trekking around in nature, wandering, wilderness camping. Love most sports and water sports, like wakeboarding and surfing. and exploring Florida's beautiful spring-fed rivers.

I like minimal travel, too (hitchhiking, couchsurfing), because it creates the most local experience possible. Even if I had all the money in the world, I would still probably hitchhike and use CS. I love going to festivals (music, especially psytrance, and transformational) because there I have two of my favorite things: Live music, and warm, open, connected people!

Other interests include going to out to parties and concerts, exploring new beautiful places in nature, snuggling, playfighting, attacks of laughter, juggling, dancing(!!!!!).. making new friends, staying informed with politics and social issues, going to the beach, and doing anything active or athletic (basketball, soccer, frisbee, tennis, etc). I also have lots of academic and business interests. I've worked in everything from a small start-up, to a teacher at a non-profit for refugee kids, to a sales associate, to a professional musician and many things in between!

Music, Movies, and Books

Psht ... too many for me to narrow down here! My favorite movie is Thelma and Louise. I like lots of books and LOTS of music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Hitchhiking to psytrance festivals in Spain and Portugal
-BOOM festival
-Staying in a squat in Ibiza
-Hiking the Grand Canyon rim to rim
-Euro pride in Rome
-Working at a farm on the Costa Rican/Nicaraguan border over the summers as a kid
-Swimming with Manatees in Florida all growing up
-Studying for a term at Oxford
-Staying in a shack on the beach in Goa, India
-Nightlife in Hamburg/Berlin
-Camping and living off the earth in the beautiful, wild nature in Samothraki, Greece
-Hosting travelers from all over the world in Sofia, Bulgaria
-Burning Man and subsequent travels to Lake Tahoe and Yosemite

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you the drums or guitar. I teach lots of surfers also how to ski or wakeboard in Florida if we can go out in the boat while you're here. Or if you're interested in psychology, I can teach you the Enneagram (it's basically a really transformative and powerful personality typology system, but it's been in development for centuries and is still used by modern licensed psychologists in their practices!). I'm pretty open to learning new things.. Always interested in practicing and improving language skills.. or in learning a new recipe.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Portugal, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    20 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups