Logo orange

Emilyn Stam

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emilyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, French, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Music!
  • Listening and Observing
  • From Smithers, BC, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

la vie est maintenant! explore more of Canada, my homeland, and meet others who are doing the same.

ABOUT ME

My life is filled with music, cooking/eating food, languages, exploring ... I love mountains and outdoors activities, as well as the exciting culture of cities. I love meeting new people and talking with strangers on transit or on the street. My mind often goes a bit crazy with thinking, which can lead to really deep conversations or just randomly doing silly things. Its all about balance!

PHILOSOPHY

Say yes, take risks, listen to silence, and the rhythm of your surroundings, look for good in everything and you will be overwhelmed by the beauty of the world...

I'm very for natural living ... making and growing my own food is something I'd like to have part of my life when possible. I think our society has a lot to learn from more ancient ways of doing things, a way of living that will be better for the earth and better for society, creating community...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I recently had a great first experience staying with people in Strasbourg and really feeling like I've created another home through couch surfing! I've also seem to randomly meet other couch surfers through talking with strangers on the street and always like who I meet! Now that I'm back in Canada I hope to be able to host and cook meals for people, introducing them to my country!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Very good! An amazing way to create instant community in a new place!

Interests

Music ... Food ... Nature ... People ... Culture ... Children ... Community ... Creating

Music, Movies & Books

I like most music, except what is usually mainstream! Music created from the heart, or music that makes you dance.

I'm very pop-culturely uneducated and don't know many movies!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Spent a week wandering the streets of Havana, jamming with locals and soaking in the beauty!/A week in an orphanage in Mexico with beautiful people. Night-long day time in Northern Canada...Northern lights dancing to gypsy punk music at Kispiox Folk Music Festival...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share my musical knowledge of improvising freely on piano, playing with chords and by ear ... Can teach Canadian fiddle tunes, traditional and new...and can share some of my favourite recipes by cooking with people! (Though I'm no expert cook, I like experimenting!)

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Canada, Cuba, France, Mexico, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Emilyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile