Logo orange

Emily Withers

Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Free spirit living for a living, whe...
  • High school
  • From Cairns, Queensland - Australia
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"Live in the sunshine, swim in the sea, drink the wild air" - Ralph Emerson

ABOUT ME

I'm a very outgoing/bubbly, confident and independent soul that just takes things as they come, experience the moment and the beauty of life while loving to spend quality and genuine time getting to know others, how things work, are seen, are believed, are lived (and eaten!) around the world. I have a strong sense of self and through daily genuine daily interactions - either at home in Australia - or wherever and whenever I may be around the world - I just want to feel fun, feel free and alive, while aiming to live a non-harming lifestyle (I'm vegan!) to limit my impact on all fellow creatures great and small, impact on fellow individuals, and the planet. Wow, that's me! My friends, and others that meet me would instantly describe me as a very social, see the positive in everyone person, although I do love to spend quality time on my own and appreciate being free and active in nature and through exercise.

I left Australia a couple of months ago to travel for as long as I can (quit my job!), and currently cycling eastern europe by bicycle on my own. This is to see the world in other ways I wouldn't normally via normal traveling routs and methods, and push myself mentally more so, to see what I can do. It is even more then I can explain in words. Its about learning about others, the world and how others interact with eachother and their environments, facing internal and external challenges (I'm sure some terrible bike punctures are to come!) and see the beauty of the world, more slowly, by bicycle. Also it is a more sustainable, and 'greener' way to travel and the absolute freedom, and absolute not knowing what every new meter I cycle, I am unsure what I will face. Love it!

I am very passionate about animal rights and the cruelty free compassionate lifestyle and eating habits I live by, and would only really want to stay with hosts that are at least vegetarian, but preferably vegan like me and raw vegan as well (I am raw vegan). I don't mind if you eat meat but have to be open person and not closed minded and hurtful about things to my sort of compassionate lifestyle of course.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm all about living a life of unprocessed fruit and veg just as nature intended, positive attitude and awakening to a higher consciousness and my truer self.

I'm vegan first and foremost for the millions of animals who are oppressed and abused and will not contribute to any suffering of them through living a compassionate lifestyle. I believe in equalism of all people, creatures and the planet

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have only recently joined the couch surfing.org community however have done some of my own couch surfing over meeting people traveling who have insisted I stay on their couch! A true couch surfing experience with locals, it's been brilliant! My last was two days ago with a local Croatian family, who I stayed with for two days, and will definitely go back to visit them again once I return to Croatia at the end of my cycle eastern Europe trip!

Interests

I have been a vegetarian for about 4-5 years, and vegan for the last 9 months which is the dominate factor in how I live my day to day lifestyle - not just through food - but through every sense of reducing the suffering or impact on anyone or anything else, and this also includes me :) Being vegan helps me feel connected and gives me a sense of community (global community), and believe this has created me and why I'm so open and 'free spirited' (friends have definitely labelled me this!). Trying to also go raw at the moment as well although it's hard to do travelling! Just good food and good company is best! Into everything organic and natural -inside and out :) )including cruelty free of course!). Of course I enjoy the company of like minded eating people, but lots of my friends (actually all pretty much!) are meat eaters and I enjoy spreading knowledge and open to conversations with everyone, no matter what lifestyle, and of course, do no prejudice staying with you/hanging out if you do eat meat, however I will give you some interesting and pretty open conversation about the truth of meat, and how to adopt a compassionate lifestyle!

At home in Australia I love to be physical and mentally active, and enjoy any outdoor activity (even if I'm bad, I'll still give it a good go!) and love the beach and bush (having grown up and lived near my whole life!). I hit the gym, have done a triathlon and trying to learn how to surf (finally - ultimate goal!). I love yoga of course, anything that's chilled, including music which I couldn't live without - anything really! I hit a few live gigs a week at least at home and I love dancing out with friends, and most of the time I end up getting lost and completely loving dancing alone.I love dance and tech tunes, roots & reggae especially, ,chill tunes, world music (love african!) 0anything with soulll and deep rythm (either to my hips or mind!) - anything with soul. I don't ever have the TV on - just the music (thankfully I live with my understanding sister :). I love getting away for the weekend with friends camping, but also head away for a few days on my own down to camp and surf as well completely on my own - freedom. I've always worked professional administrative jobs, however unlikely to return to once I return to Australia next year, and keen to finally set my mind to some good old study at home in Australia with a focus on community development and social sciences (have keen interest in Tibetan movement, and spend time volunteering in India with the Tibetan refugees).

At the moment, I want to see, feel and experience the world in side of myself and as close to others by bicycle :)

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy books which are based on true events, or personal stories. I have to admit I'm not a very imaginative person (can't get into fantasy books), although I still thoroughly enjoy at the age of 25 children's movies funnily enough, especially Pocahontas, Fern Gully and my favorite movie of all time, The Labyrinth with David Bowie!!

I LOVE BREATH FEEL LIFE WITH MUSIC! I honestly can't even begin to describe music here, it will take forever. Some of my favorite artists though are Erkyah Badu, The Roots, The Doors, John Butler Trio, Taylor McFerrin, Bonobo, Active Child, Hermitude, NERO, Tracy Chapman, Budda Bar, all world music and surf tunes, Angus & Julia Stone, oh wow, the list is endless...seriously I love everything with soul.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The most significant travel experience for me personally was travelling into Tibet. Ever since I was a child, I remember the images of the mountains and euphoric open plains of the Tibetan region. I travelled there (although you can only go on organised tour obviously because of the political situation there) in 2009. Although I was not free to travel around and engage with locals, seeing the political situation (what I could!) for myself, as well as being finally in a place I had always seen pictures of (especially Everest Base Camp) was unforgettable. It was then highly relevant and more grateful once I traveled to India and volunteered with the Tibetan refugee community into northern India.

Teach, Learn, Share

I played classical piano for 10 years and although I haven't played for about 7 years now, I can still read and deeply emotionally connect with music, especially live and also live piano concerts. I am traveling with a harmonica that my mother gave me, and am trying to learn how to play this as well while traveling!

Countries I've Visited

China, Croatia, Finland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Nepal, Serbia, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, India

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile