Logo orange

Emma Peura

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning German, Swedish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • I'm a visual artist, specialized in ...
  • Saimaa University of Applied Science...
  • From Kauhava
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

checking out what the European art scene has to offer!

ABOUT ME

I'm a visual artist and printmaker, graduated in 2012 from Saimaa University of Applied Sciences. I make installations and fine art prints, as well as some freelance graphic design to fund my art projects. See my work at my website if interested!

I love traveling and getting to know new people, specially if they're also interested in fine arts in any way.

I've danced as a hobby for years. I've done ballet, contemporary/modern, jazz, show dance, tap, afro, samba reggae, hip hop, some house.. A year this, a year that. Lately I've been dancing contemporary and my latest addiction is pole dancing. I've also done yoga and pilates whenever I've had the time for it.

I played piano for 10 years but haven't played in a long time. I was also a scout for 10 years. And also I sang in a choir for (guess how long?) 10 years.

When I was about 15 I moved to Montgomery, Alabama with my family for a year due to my father's profession. I was a freshman in Booker T. Washington Magnet High School and my magnet was dancing.

I speak fluently Finnish and English. I also speak very bad Swedish and a bit better German, and I'm hoping to one day speak these languages fluently. I was an exchange student in Munich University of Applied Science (the Design faculty) and my German language skills got a bit better, but I'm still working on it.

I like vegetarian and vegan food, but at the moment I'm not following any strict diet. I have nothing against eating game meat or fish from time to time.

I'm an atheist but I don't care if other people aren't. At least when surfing/hosting I try to keep away from this subject since people tend to have strong opinions and that always causes problems, and I don't like problems :)

PHILOSOPHY

Life is not about making money, it's about living happily :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I'm more interested in surfing myself. Maybe one day me and my boyfriend will open our two couches for surfers, but at the moment our lives are so full of activities that we don't have time to host anyone :(

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In the summer '12 I surfed in Berlin with my boyfriend Aku. We got a two-week-long residency from our local Art Council that has an apartment in Wedding. Once our two weeks were up, we stayed in Berlin for an extra week, couch surfing. It was so much fun that it made me want to host as well! But yeah, hosting is not possible for us right now.

Interests

printmaking, drawing, painting, photography, contemporary dancing, pole dancing, pilates, yoga, singing, visiting art museums and galleries and all other art related events, gym, comics, flea markets, vintage clothes, a cappella singing (I sing alto), languages

Music, Movies & Books

Music: at the moment I'm into Philip Glass, U.N.K.L.E., Aphex Twin, Amon Tobin, Paavoharju, Joose Keskitalo, J. Karjalainen, Beirut..

One Amazing Thing I've Done

There are so many amazing things.. I guess at the moment, graduating to be an artist, that was pretty nice :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I could try to teach you Finnish or English :) And drawing a model, by pencil, charcoal etc.. and printmaking, of course! I do mainly metal graphics, but I'm familiar with other techniques, too, like japanese wood cut, monotype etc. I also know something about cameras, film + digital.

I've been studying German for years but I'm still a beginner, so that's something you could try to teach me! I tend to get better at it after a couple of Augustiners :)

Countries I've Visited

Germany, Netherlands, Russian Federation

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile