Emily Reid's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Italian, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Humanitarian Aid Worker
  • Masters of International Development
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Australian and have been working overseas in international development and humanitarian emergencies for many years. Most of my work has been in human trafficking, irregular migration and displacement.

I'm currently doing protection work at UNHCR in Zamboanga (Mindanao) in the Philippines in a post-conflict area and about to return to Melbourne. Would invite guests here but you'll likely get kidnapped by one of the 3 armed groups or pirates!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I can't even count the number of couch surfers I've had over the years in different countries, contexts and couches. Many of them have remained friends for life and wanted to join the online club to do it properly!

Interests

I love kickboxing, boxing and making films about human trafficking

  • dining
  • italian food
  • recipes
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • boxing

Music, Movies, and Books

I love alternative, rock and drum&bass music; thrillers, action, horror and sci-fi movies, and any literature I can can get my hands on, especially overseas :) Haven't converted to a kindle so cart around more books than clothes in my suitcase!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rock-climbed the death defying unreconstructed great wall of china illegally overnight in in a snow blizzard wearing dock martins

Teach, Learn, Share

Addicted to travel, humanitarian work and meeting new people and excited to learn, teach and share through couchsurfing!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, stories, and more stories, travel recommendations, vocational advice, english lessons, recipes, and home-cooked deserts, Asian or Italian food!

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Cook Islands, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, India, Mongolia, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Thailand, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile. It’s free!