Eric Handtke's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • currently in med school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hey guys,
my name is Eric and I am 21 years old. After having been in med school for two years I decided to take a break in order to broaden my horizon and travel the world.
Dresden in the eastern part of Germany has been my hometown for almost two years and I really appreciate having the chance to live here. Nevertheless I want to go out and explore yet unseen cities, landscapes etc. I believe this interest awaked during my year abroad in Canada when I was 16 and 17. Thus I would describe myself as an open minded, friendly, helpful and curious person, who is looking forward to get to know people from all over the world. See you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I heard terrific experiences from friends beeing on couchsurfing and while they were staying at local hosts places. In my opinion it is an unique oppurtunity to meet, talk or even stay with people beeing familar with the place you visit for vacations. I believe that no travelguide is able to provide you with informations and hints comparable to the ones beeing hold by residents.

Interests

I love beeing on city trips! There is no such thing as discovering and getting to know a thrilling place.

Next to this I really like visiting museums due to my huge interest in art and architecture.

Reading and literature is an interest, which calms me down and transfers you me unknown settings.

Not to forget spending time with my friends and I would say that I am a pretty decent chef thus I like beeing busy in the kitchen.

  • arts
  • literature
  • architecture
  • reading
  • traveling

Music, Movies, and Books

I admire Ben Howard and his amazing music, who is my favourite musician. Furthermore I prefer listening to rather folk and indie music, such as Ben Harper, Jacob Dylan...

It is hard to pick a couple of favourite books and movies among many...
Well, let's give it a try: I enjoyed reading "why we took the car" (it's called Tschicj in German) by Wolfgang Herrndorf for three times a lot! Although it was quite hard to get through more than 1000 pages of "Anna Karenina" it was a pleasure!

"The White Ribbon" directed by Michael Haneke is an unique and frightening movie, dealing with the life, attitudes and criminal events in a village before World War I started.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 16/17 I spend almost a year abroad in Canada in order to attend school there, which confronted me with completely unknown expriences to this point. Yet this time was the best one I had so far!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share my skills in preparing pretty delicious meals with hosts. This brings me to a pleasant dinner, which is the perfect place to talk about experiences made, places seen ...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Poland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Taiwan

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.