Logo orange

Erika Burgess

Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • College drop-out
  • From Washington State, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To expolore, see the world, and enjoy life.

ABOUT ME

Like most people on this site, I love traveling and exploring new places. I am currently on break from university, indefinitely, and am in the process doing everything I've ever wanted to do. I spent the last year in India, with most of that time being on a community organic farm in the middle of the forest, where I fell in love with the lifestyle of growing your own food, living communally, and just living more outside. I'm now wanting to explore more of this lifestyle in other places while I am traveling.

I'm interested in living with less materially, but with more experiences. I can often seem a bit sporadic, sarcastic, or disinterested, but this is more because I try not to take anything too seriously and try every day to have less expectations and just see and experience things as they are. I would say I'm pretty easy going, can often be a bit more of an introvert, and overall just love seeing different cultures. I'm fascinated by the different ways individuals, and groups live. I enjoy being outdoors and am a bit of a fresh air fiend, so you can often find me in the mountains, or along the coast.

A small dream of mine is to live as a traveling busker. So, if you're the type of person who enjoys spontaneous decision making, jumping off of cliffs and bridges, adventuring, being outside, and living with less, then lets meet up and explore a bit :)

PHILOSOPHY

"When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world.

I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation.

When I found I couldn't change the nation, I began to focus on my town. I couldn't change the town and as an older man, I tried to change my family.

Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I came across couchsurfing while traveling and have been traveling since so I have only been surfing but hope to host people when my travels settle down.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CouchSurfing has completely changed traveling for me. I have had some truly great experiences that I otherwise would not have had. I owe some of my best memories to both hosts and other travelers I met through this site.

Interests

Playing music. I enjoy being outside and doing various outdoor activities such as trekking, kayaking, and mountain biking. Learning to surf as well!

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Bob Dylan, The Avett Brothers, Mumford and Sons, Delta Spirit, Neil Young, Amy Macdonald, Gypsy and the Cat, The Wombats, Ben Harper...

Books: I have read recently and enjoyed, On the Road, Everything is Illuminated and One Hundred Years of Solitude.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Seeing lightning storms in flat lands, watching meteor showers from hot springs in Mammoth, CA, Mauritania and the Sahara Dessert.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn anything and everything about farming, natural building, and overall just living more sustainably. I want to learn more about surfing, and sailing. I play guitar and a bit of flute but want to learn violin and love learning other instruments in general. Would love to learn more about different natural healing and medicinal plants.

Countries I've Visited

Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Senegal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Erika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile