Logo orange

Erin McLaughlin

Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Administration & Human Resources
  • BA from STU, HR Management from UNBF
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore the world.

ABOUT ME

...sometimes it shows that I've logged in from Kansas. I've never been to Kansas, so please ignore!

I'm a 28 year old currently working in the administration and human resources field. I have ridiculous wanderlust and want to travel the world.

I've travelled extensively throughout Canada and the US and finally had the opportunity to flee North America in Summer 2012 for Scotland and Ireland (Republic & Northern), which has only perpetuated my need to travel more. In Fall 2012, on a whim, I booked a ticket to London. I spent time travelling England, Belgium and Scotland, before returning (sadly) to Canada.

Summer 2013 lead me to Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Croatia, Spain, The Netherlands and Scotland.

I'd love to, at some point in my life, say I've visited every country and have a wild story to tell from each.

It's always hard to describe yourself, but I'd say I'm pretty laid back, outgoing, extroverted, and friendly. I'm a non-smoker, but I do enjoy the odd cigar if drinking whisky. I'm a lover of pubs, beer, coffee, the beach, the mountains, and being oustide. I'm a big procrastinater (probably why I waited until I was in my mid-twenties to start traveling). I'm optimistic, but the realist in me seems to bugger up once in a while. I love to drive, even though I'm terrible at it. I'm a fan of anything and anyone who can make me laugh.

PHILOSOPHY

Work to live, not live to work.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

If someone was in Saint John or area, I'd gladly show them around/take them to a local pub, etc. Saint John is a great city, which has a decent amount of bars and restaurants, and some great sites to check out. I do have a couch to offer, but my life is pretty hectic, so I'm not sure that I'd be able to host (with enough notice though, anything is possible).

I have met some incredible people through Couchsurfing and have had some pretty phenomenal experiences with fellow CS'ers in almost every country I've visited.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met up with couchsurfers while travelling, but have not couchsurfed to date.

I've also met up with a few CS'ers in Saint John for beers, dinner or a quick tour around the city in my teeny car.

Interests

Pubs, music, night life, exploring, travelling, history, culture, comedy, meeting new people, wandering aimlessly, trying things I've never tried before, being at the beach, the mountains, learning new things, languages, being absolutely lazy with a great cup of tea/coffee on a foggy day, and spending time with interesting people.

Music, Movies & Books

I'm open to just about anything, music wise. I tend to gravitate more toward indie, alternative or rock, but am generally open to anything (all mood-dependent, I guess).

Movies: I'm into anything that can make me giggle.

Books: again, just about anything. I love a good biography or a non-fiction. With a background in human rights, I tend to gravitate more toward books relating to social and human rights issues.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One of my absolute favorite places in Canada is Banff. I just returned from a week trip there where I spent the days hiking, horse back riding, a helicopter tour of the Rockies, and the evenings drinking local beer and wine with other travellers. This was my first trip I have ever done solo, and there is nothing more freeing than travelling alone! Also, the beauty of the rocky mountains is inexplicable. **I also discovered that I'm allergic to horses. It's certainly interesting trying to drive a car from Canmore to Banff when your eyes have swollen shut!

Other phenomenal experiences including climbing the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland, hiking through Glencoe Scotland, and indulging in a 7 day pub crawl around Ireland with a pretty fabulous Australian crew. Falling madly in love with Eastern Europe, lazing on a beach in Croatia, hiking Plitvice National Park, or checking out the bone church in Kutna Hora.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a pretty laid back person. I'm hoping to gain from this experience someone who can not only let me crash on their couch, but can give me the inside info on where to eat, drink and be merry in your locale. For me, finding a place to sleep is only the tip of the iceberg, so to speak. I really want to get out of this life-long friends and travel buddies. For me, it's more of a "learning exchange" where you can immerse yourself in another life/world with locals. What could be better?

Here's a few cool videos of my hometown: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZ6R1nKUZXQ

http://vimeo.com/57605952

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile