Ersin Dincelli

Albany, NY, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ersin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Research Assistant at State University of New York, Albany
  • State University of New York, Albany - Informatics, PhD
  • From Bursa, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Spread the word!


Hello surfers! This is Ersin. I was born in Bursa, Turkey and I have lived there for 27 years! I graduated from Uludag University, Economics and I am currently doing my PhD in Informatics at the State University of New York, Albany.

I go back and forth between New York and Turkey and I have a place to host in each location.

Traveling, experiencing different cultures, learning languages and meeting new people from other cultures are my passions. I find it very exciting to know more about the foreigners and talk about each other`s history, life styles and cultures.


A big believer in vacations!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I share my place with travelers both in New York and Bursa and make my guests to have a great experience during their stay by shoving them around and introducing local food and drinks.


--- People I Hosted ---
Ania Zmuda - March 9th, 2013 (1 day)
Amy Lee - August 6-7th, 2011 (2 days)
Vinh - August 18-19th, 2011 (2 days)

--- Met for a Drink or Showed Around ---
Mijin Lee in Kozahan, Bursa (January 9th, 2011)
Amy Lee in Bursa (August 6-7th, 2011)

--- CouchSurfing Meetings ---
Foreigners Working Group Meeting at Cadde Üstü Bar, Bursa - July 1st and 29th, 2011 by Eliza Mienko and Ann-Sophiel
Iftar with CouchSurfing Bursa at Durak Muhallebicisi, Bursa - August 21, 2011 (Organizer)
The Second Annual CouchSurfing Bursa Iftar at Dürr-i Koza, Bursa - July 30, 2012 (Organizer with Omer Faruk Kocer)


My favorite sport is snowboarding! I like scuba diving, cinema and theater, foreign cultures, traveling, photography, psychology, history, motorcycles, wakeboarding as well.
I also love reading, listening music, and dancing when no one is watching! :)

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly electronic and instrumental. I also like Latin musics, blues, jazz and R&B.

I used to be a big fan of cinema but I cant watch movies any more because of lacking free time. I have watched a lot of movies and my favorites are; Closer, Carandiru, American Psycho, Life Is Beautiful, Fight Club, Donnie Darko, The Godfather, Scarface, The Shawshank Redemption, Snatch, Léon, Princess Mononoke, Contact.

My favorite author is Amin Maalouf. I like his novels and I strongly recommend his books to everyone.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling 8 countries in 11 days by train!

We wanted to go to Euro 2008 in Switzerland to watch Turkey vs Czech Republic football game by train and see as much countries as possible in 11 days. Trains became our beds during nights and we managed to visit 8 countries and had a lifetime experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I believe we can learn something from every people we meet. I think that is why I love traveling so much.

I would like to learn more about different cultures (especially cultures of middle east and far east countries), psychology and religions.

Some of the Web Sites I Find Very Useful for Traveling:
Momondo - Flight search engine
Lonely Planet - Travel guide publisher
HostelWorld - To find cheap hostels worldwide. Just in case...
Thorn Tree - The oldest travel forum.
Skebby - Free SMS.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cyprus, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ersin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups