Logo orange

Carl's Groups

Carl Uebelhart

Santa Cruz, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Japanese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • IT
  • Bachelors at UCLA
  • From Los Angeles
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

live a fufilling and flexible life full of contradictions.

ABOUT ME

I've lived in six different countries, but keep coming back to the west coast of the US. I'm a Hiker/IT hybrid - introverted by nature but adventurous, I'm not a partier but I enjoy some pints of good beer over conservation. I don't smoke or do drugs, though I'm 420 friendly. I like to wander around, talk to people, try new food/drink, take a hike etc when I'm somewhere new. Mellow but good natured I suppose, most people enjoy my sense of humor. :)

photos were you can see me around:

http://flickr.com/photos/erutan/tags/carl/

PHILOSOPHY

independent, open minded, spontaneous, curious, dryly sarcastic with bouts of cheery naive idealism.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Ask for places to couch surf and attend some events, give people advice on the road.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Two nights in Belgium, very friendly people - enjoyed the experience. Also stayed in Cambridge, MA and Rockport Maine and have attended local couchsurfing events in Los Angeles.

Interests

music, philosophy, travel, politics, photography, bicycling, backpacking food, art, third wave coffee, microbrews, games, good conversation, baked goods.

Music, Movies & Books

electronica/folktronica/ambient/IDM/etc, progressive rock, alt rock, singer-songwriter, folk, piano

grew up reading fantasy & SF, now lean more towards literature and cultural/economic non-fiction

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Woke up in the back country of the High Sierra with an entire valley to myself. I've been enjoying getting to know the Yosemite area over the past few summers.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help out with backpacking (in wilderness) advice, do some basic bicycle repair, and help out with website advice.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, France, Ireland, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Singapore, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, China, Japan, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile