Erwin Broers's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erwin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German, Portuguese; learning Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Dropped out of the rat race to dedicate myself to the *go...
  • School & university basically put me on the wrong path, b...
  • From Voeren (Belgium) near Maastricht (Holland) and Aachen (Germany)
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Complete overhaul of my life... including a trip around the world starting end 2014/start 2015 !!

ABOUT ME

I discovered the pleasures of travel at the age of 4 when I joined my parents for the 1st time on a trip to the Alps. My dad's back still hurts from carrying me around ! When my legs grew strong enough I started hiking (Austria) and skiing (France) myself. Trips to Öland (Sweden), Iceland and Turkey with a youth organisation really got my wanderlust going. At university I joined AIESEC (international student organisation for Business Students) which allowed me to criss-cross the whole of Europe and meeting many interesting people ! Throughout my professional career I always occupied position for which strong language skills were needed, but my best job was as a local tour rep for a Belgian TO. I lived and worked almost 2 years in South Africa and Egypt. Over the last 10-15 years I travelled to Mexico (2x), Southwest USA, Guatemala, Brazil (3x), Uruguay, Chile, Argentina, Australia (2x), South Africa (3x), Mozambique, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Russia, Morocco, Egypt (4x), Tunisia (2x) and several countries in Europe. But the hunger to see more is still very much alive !

PHILOSOPHY

There's so much to see & do, to learn & enjoy...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd gladly offer a couch but I'll be leaving soon on a world tour so guess I'll be surfing only ;-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I CS'ed on very rare occasions but it has always been the best way to explore a place you don't know - and meet great people at the same time !

Interests

Mountain biking, scuba diving, hiking, skiing, soccer, chilling on the beach, exploring National Parks and other areas of natural beauty, listening to music (from rock to lounge/chill out), reading (books, magazines,... in several languages and on subjects as varied as philospophy, history, psychology, geography, music, nature, travel,...) and occasionally a good night out !

  • books
  • beauty
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • soccer
  • business
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • psychology
  • beaches
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything that relates to adventure, history,... My favorite movies are:
1) Space Odyssey 2001
2) Into The Wild
3) Schindler's List

In literature I enjoy Paul Theroux, Bruce Chatwin, Jack London, James Michener, André Brink,...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- hike the Grand Canyon from South Rim to North Rim and back again
- learn to scuba dive in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
- sleep under the stars at Epupa Falls, Namibia
- cycle the " Marmotte " in the French Alps
- walk around (and do NOT climb) Ayers Rock, Australia
- watch the sun rise at Monument Valley, Arizona, USA
- chill out with the lions just outside Orpen, Kruger National Park, South Africa
- join a samba school rehearsal at Mangueira, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
- ...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Palestine, Portugal, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Brazil, Egypt, South Africa, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Erwin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups