Emma Shiekova's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Bulgarian, English; learning Korean, Russian, Spanish
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • English Teacher and traveller
  • Through the British and Bulgarian systems
  • From Middlesbrough, England +Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To continue having as many new and enjoyable experiences in my life and be happy

ABOUT ME

Have never been good as this type of thing :), but here goes. I would have to describe myself as a mongrel, I have mixed parentage and was born in England but grew up in communist Bulgaria. I went to an international school in Bulgaria where I met my first foreigners about all 70 of them (my fellow school mates) and I think that set my love and curiosity of things international.After the fall of communism and the really difficult times of transition, I moved to England to study and explore my English side. I lived in a few places in England, the longest in London where I started teaching English as a foreign language-a job that gives me immense satisfaction and a means to pursuing my other passions of travel and meeting people around the world. I have since worked in Scotland, Russia and South Korea with my professions and travelled around these and neighbouring countries.

PHILOSOPHY

To enjoy life, to try things, to be open-minded. To treat people, the way you want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Recently joined Couchsurfing, so am new to this. I wanted to start hosting a while back but was under the mistaken impression that I needed to wait for a postcard in the post before I could start. Then found out from some Couchsurfing friends that this wasn't the case:), so started hosting just a while ago but this has coincided with my lead up to leaving Korea so haven't been in my town much, sorry.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have met and hung out with Couchsurfers through friends who started hosting before I did. I love the concept and have found it is a great way to meet like-minded people.

Interests

Learning, travelling, socialising, running, snowboarding, squash, (basically most sports) photography, reading, current affairs, nutrition, healthy lifestyles, food,

  • photography
  • dining
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • racquetball
  • languages
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

I love most films, music and books. Will give anything a try. I thought, for example, that I didn't really like very heavy music but found recently through a Korean rock festival that I liked the heavy music because the musicians were really enthusiastic. So I guess the overall conclusion is that I appreciate most music and art, where there is passion and good ideas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It would be hard to classify this. I don't think I could classify myself as a human being who does amazing things, just one that tries to have good experiences and meet like-minded people.

Teach, Learn, Share

Knowledge of other cultures(as well as my own two-Bulgarian and English), of travelling, resourcefulness, languages, living abroad, teaching, learning from others

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Croatia, France, Germany, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Russian Federation, South Korea, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!