Logo orange

ESzabo

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ESzabo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 102, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Designer (graphic and digital media)...
  • with a university degree and to be c...
  • From Boston, MA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make my dreams come true.

ABOUT ME

I´m a designer, illustrator and creator of funny little characters (see my photos, there are some in there...). I moved to Barcelona in 2006. I try to start my day with a skate or swim at the beach, followed by a cappucino, followed by doing something I am passionate about like my design or working on my characters. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I don't. ;)

I was born in the US, my dad is Hungarian, my mother is American, which provoked a serious identity crisis for me since while my kids my age were watching "Happy Days" I was listening to stories of life under communism and the Hungarian revolution; I grew up sort of outside the culture I lived in but didn't realize it until much later. It gave me a desire to live in Europe and travel the world and search for my tribe that's never left me at peace. I´ve traveled somewhat extensively in the US, Europe, Mexico, South and Central America and have been to Asia.

PHILOSOPHY

I might have one if I thought I had it all figured out, but for now I suppose I am in favor of being a responsible citizen of the world and trying to leave a net positive rather than negative effect on it. But well, here are 2 things I think and am trying to live by: be true to yourself and good to others...and life is short, I'm trying to push my limits...there's not a minute to waste!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

hosting or meeting up for a drink or coffee

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've Couchsurfed in London and Berlin, hosted in Barcelona, and gone to CS events mostly in Berlin.

Interests

travel! design! sunshine! sharing: cultural exchanges, great conversations, true connections with others, exchanging perspectives and experiences, learning languages, salsa dancing (not very good at remembering all those steps), cooking dinner for friends, fun, how to make creating and feeling alive a bigger part of my life....

Music, Movies & Books

MOVIES The Lives of Others, almost anything Almodovar, Le Gout Des Autres, Chico y Rita, The Big Blue, A Fish called Wanda, Latcho Drom, My Life as a Dog, Soy Cuba, La fille sur le pont, Cinema Paradiso, Divine Intervention, Persepolis, Bladerunner, Midnight Run, the 007 films, The Thomas Crown Affair, Diva, Traffic, Don Juan DeMarco, Pay in Forward, Inside Job, Hearts of Darkness, Exit through the Gift Shop, Tropa de Elite, The Corporation, documentaries MUSIC: the the, sting, juan luis guerra, orishas, camaron de la isla, balkan music, verdi, astor piazolla, paco de lucia, grupo niche, camaron, los van van, mozart, chopin, bach, ceruti, puccini, 80s BOOKS: books are a good thing, but I have no time to read anymore!! But I recently read Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell and thought it was fascinating.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

living in London, living in Spain, making friends and meeting people all over the world and then running into some of them again decades later, being there for the Day of the Dead in Oaxaca, Mexico. going into a church in San Juan Chamula, seeing Positano and the Amalfi Coast, riding all over Mykonos on the back of a scooter, walking on top of a live volcano, staying up into the wee hours having fascinating conversations, laughing with friends

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: English, yummy Hungarian crepes recipe. Learn: how to stop and jump curbs rollerblading, salsa rueda, French, German. Share: Laughter. Food. Love. Fun. Letting go. Ideas. Cross-cultural Insights. Experience. Everything.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Martinique, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see ESzabo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile