Etienne FARAND's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Etienne’s full profile.


  • 6 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Working in the National Park of Pyrenees
  • Population biology (university of Lyon)
  • From Lyon, Sète, Oullins, La Valbonne
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I settled in Pyrénées in 2001, in Arrens in 2002. I didn't move since. It's a terrific place to live !
I used to travel, I plan to travel with my 2 kids now.

I'm a good minded, cheerfull guy, curious of everything.
I do enjoy being in nature, sharing time with my kids, playing music (especially irish trad), having a beer in a pub, talking, making land art, drawing, making pictures, meditating in the morning, eating good cheese while drinking good red wine (well, you know, i'm french...).

I like nature and hiking, humans and landscapes, winds, arts, birds, humour, musics and instruments, kites and boomerangs, flowers and butterflies, tropical fishes and free diving, sunsets and dawn, starry nights and evening with friends, marmots and paperplanes.

My flat looks like my life : a little bit overcrowded !

Be yourself ! Everyone else is already taken

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A friend of mine started on CS : I met her first couchsurfer, and it was very fun ! A nice way to meet peoples from far (or near). A good way to travel too.
When I travel, i like to visit my friends : thus i have good time and i discover much better the area.
I hope that CS will be a way to enlarge my friend network, and to contribute to it.


  • wildlife
  • books
  • photography
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • organic food
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • movies
  • kite flying
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • art
  • nature
  • flute
  • playing music
  • free diving
  • birdwatching
  • land art
  • marmots

Music, Movies, and Books

There are many musics i'm fond of ! Trad, world, folk, jazz, rock, soul, new wave, electro, ambient, etc... Whatever the style, i prefer live music.
I play guitar, flutes, ukulele, bass, and try to play clarinet, percussions, harmonica, jew's harp, melodica (!), concertina, etc...

I like many movies : few blockbusters (Avatar, Tiger & Dragons,...), many movies from the "cinéma d'auteur" (Woody Allen, Kaurismaki, Wes Anderson, Hal Hartley, Jim Jarmush, Kusturica, Kurosawa, etc.) and old Black&White ones too (Chaplin's, Marks Brothers, Singing in the rain,...)

I read a lot... scifi, novels, nature writer, (auto)biography, travel writer, adventures, books from other cultures (african, asia, ...)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Maybe a 300 km trip in a taxi-brousse, with 14 people in the car (2 were on the roof...) seems amazing, especially crossing the Niger river with the car on 2 canoes - anyway in Guinea it's usual.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can talk about wildlife, nature, mountains, life int he valleys, (irish) music, and a bunch of other stuff. I like to learn & I hope i will my whole life. I like to share experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good time, music, a meal i cooked, and maybe stuffs from my valley

Countries I’ve Visited

Burkina Faso, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Guadeloupe, Guinea, Ireland, Italy, Mali, Martinique, Morocco, New Caledonia, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Etienne’s full profile.