Kata Evellei

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kata’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Hungarian; learning German, Italian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • student of arts
  • master's degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Having recently finished college, I'm currently studying as a PhD student. I love to travel in Hungary and to foreign countries (if I have the chance). Italy is like a second homeland to me with its welcoming people and great atmosphere. I prefer observing and listening to speaking, and I love to learn about people different from me.
I try to live as open-mindedly as I can - we can all use some extra tolerance and solidarity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To travel, learn and share! Up until now, I've been hosted in several countries and hosted or met up with some guests. If you're planning to go to Budapest, I'm ready to offer some amateur (but hopefully interesting) tour guiding in the city.


Every existing kind of literature, from Homer to Pynchon, from twelve-volume novels to comic books, from libraries to live performances.
Animated movies and cartoons, in every existing form and genre.
I like listening to music and I also play the organ. It can be very relaxing and a good way to get rid of everyday stress.
I regularly meet up with my friends to role-play - you can talk about D&D or Star Wars rulebooks with me any time, but my interest is not limited to these two. :) I prefer to draw my characters myself, since I draw rather well.
I'm no sportlady but I love to go hiking.

Music, Movies, and Books

A few of my best movie experiences so far: Adaptation, Millennium Actress, The Seven Samurai, Yellow Submarine, Rosemary's Baby, Song of the Sea, 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Babadook.
I'm an all-around music enthusiast, from Corelli to Slipknot, but my greatest loves are baroque and impressionist music (especially Bartók, Debussy and Satie), organ pieces, swing, electronic music, rock and metal.
Reading books is pretty much part of my job, so I can't really pick a favourite one. The focus of my interest is contemporary and 20th century fiction, preferably with some form of mind screw...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hmm... all in all, I'm rather average, but as soon as I can think of something, it'll be here.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories about foreign countries, about people and works of art. A positive outlook on life. I can sing pretty well, too. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, England, Germany, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kata’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups