Craig Evenhouse's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 82% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Craig’s full profile.


  • 30 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Cebuano, English, Spanish, Tagalog; learning French, Fula, Fulah, Pulaar, Pular
  • 54, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Spanish and History Teacher (Craig) and School Nurse (Gen)
  • MA Urban Planning (Craig) and MS Nursing (Gen)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Gen and I just returned to San Francisco after spending the last 14 months traveling on a work sabbatical. We have just moved into our new apartment and we look forward to hosting more Couchsurfers.

I've now been married for 25+ years to my best friend and travel partner. I love to travel and have been doing so since my first trip on a solo adventure as a 17 year old across the northeast of the U.S and Canada. Nowadays my trips primarily focus around birding. We have spent a total of 7 years as Peace Corps Volunteer (Philippines, Cameroon, Guinea, Zambia, Guyana, and Uganda) and we've had plenty of time to explore remote corners of West, Southern and East Africa, Guyana and the Philippines.

I like nice/friendly people!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We have hosted both couch surfers and travelers participating in Warm Showers (people traveling by bicycle). We enjoy meeting people from around the world. We travel often and like to meet locals, and Couchsurfing is a great way to do this.

We have hosted CSers at our tiny apartment in San Francisco and we had two awesome experiences being hosted when we went to Australia in 2013!! I have couchsurfed in the Netherlands with the first person we ever hosted and with the Italian couple we hosted last year. AWESOME!!


Travelling, Hiking/Camping, Cycling, Birding, Skiing, Reading, Flying, and Wildlife Photography.

  • wildlife
  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I watch A LOT of movies...but not much into sci fi or horror. Big Van Halen, AC/DC, John Mellencamp, and Huey Lewis fan! Gen reads a book a day...mostly historical romance. She also likes foreign films.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Christmas Day, 2007 outside a village 15 kilometers from where I was living as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Guinea, West Africa...after 10 months of searching, I found my first positive evidence that wild chimpanzees lived in the area. 2 days later I returned to camp in the area for a few days. That same day I saw my first wild chimp!!

Teach, Learn, Share

We're interested in any local culture, whether it be language, cooking, life styles, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

30+ years of travel stories, filipino cooking, and laughter.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kosovo, Laos, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Pakistan, Palestine, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Cameroon, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Philippines, Uganda, United States, Zambia

Join Couchsurfing to see Craig’s full profile.

My Groups