Evie McGregor's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Evie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Law LLB at Durham University, Medical Law and Ethics LLM ...
  • From Edinburgh
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey! I'm Evie, I'm 23 years old and I come from Scotland.

In June 2015 I graduated from my undergraduate degree and took a year out to discover some more of the world before I began my masters. I spent 6 months living in Germany, followed by 2 months in Budapest and 2 months in Porto, with lots of travelling in between. It was an incredible experience. I had the chance to meet so many fascinating people, and hear their stories. It was eye-opening and has inspired me to push myself out of my comfort zone and to learn as much as I can about new cultures and new countries.

Last year I spent a year completing my masters in Edinburgh and trying to travel as much as I could. Now I'm living in London! Unfortunately my flat is just too small to host anyone comfortably, but I am really keen to meet up with fellow travellers or like-minded Londoners for a coffee, a beer or just a stroll around this lovely city. I absolutely love meeting new people and learning about their different perspectives on life.

Interests

Travelling (of course) and meeting new people. Yoga and spirituality - one thing that stood out when travelling was how many travellers were very connected with themselves and had a certain peace about them - I'd really like to explore that more. Cooking, baking - food definitely brings people together! Literature and movies, board games, camping, hiking, wild swimming, learning about the history of a place and wandering around museums.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - I like lots of different stuff (of course haha). Right now listening to Father John Misty, The Velvet Underground, The Psychedelic Furs, Angus & Julia Stone, The Kinks... when I go out I like listening to techno, house, and since some German friends introduced it to me, drum and bass

Movies - I'm not very good at watching movies alone but I love watching them with other people. Three I've seen (sort of) recently that I liked were Melancholia by Lars Von Trier, Baby Driver and Moonlight

Books - I love reading. Recently I've been reading quite a few books by Jack Kerouac which are amazing, he talks about his travels in a sort of frantic breathless way - apparently he wrote one of his books by taping loads of sheets of paper together before he began so he never had to stop and refill his typewriter and could just keep writing and writing, and you can totally tell

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On my last evening in Budapest, I climbed to the top of the citadella - a big hill by the side of the river - and watched the sun setting and the lights going on all over the city, and it was just about the most beautiful thing I've ever seen. I guess it's not 'amazing' in terms of the effort involved, but it was a moment that stood out to me.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share conversation, many cups of tea, and a wee tour of Edinburgh.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Hungary, Japan, Portugal, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Evie’s full profile. It’s free!