Fabio Vivas's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fabio’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 47 References 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Working 7am-3pm
  • Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet, watch, learn, teach and enjoy!!!

ABOUT ME

Other than having a techie job, which I enjoy, I like spending time with my kids. I also like sports, specially cycling, soccer, running and hiking.

PHILOSOPHY

"Do good and good will come to you"

I also believe that the best things in life are free (or almost free). If I had lots of money or almost no money at all, I would still love to do the same things I enjoy now. Like waking up very early and watch the sunrise, wherever I am; or enjoy breakfast with my family, read the newspaper, play with my kids in the snow... simple stuff.
Sure, a fancy restaurant is nice, but the best meal is with the ones you love, sitting on a bench with a view of Niagara Falls, the Eiffel Tower or the river down the road...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted couch surfers from Taiwan, Germany, Spain, France, Canada, USA, Venezuela and Colombia.

With my kids I also met many CS members in a road trip to the West Coast of Canada and the USA (Great experience, 16,000km drive!); it was so good that 2 years later we traveled all over South America and met more nice families along the way.

More recently I took a sabbatical year and couchsurfed in several countries, including Argentina, Belgium, India, Russia, Italy, Australia, Malaysia, and New Zealand.

I think couchsurfing is the best way to get to know a place and meet interesting people.

Interests

I love driving, cycling, and surprisingly for some, cold weather!

Music, Movies, and Books

I like reading, mostly magazines and whatever I find on the web: all about science, investments, nature, and travel.
My favorite TV show was the Amazing Race. I don't watch much TV anymore.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Of course, watching my kids being born.
- I go to Niagara Falls quite often and I am still in awe every time. I guess, I need to get out more... ;-)
- I've seen seals, kangaroos, pandas, monkeys and bears in their natural habitat. I want to see penguins, polar bears, and zebras.
- I've ridden my motorcycle at -14C and my bicycle in the snow (Brr!!!)
- I've run a marathon and many, many half-marathons.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you have a piano I can play a tune or two :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, England, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Colombia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Fabio’s full profile. It’s free!