Felicia Daniél's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 9% response rate
  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Felicia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 76 references 72 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning French, Norwegian, Romanian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Iceland
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Due to the changes on Couchsurfing, I will no longer accept guests past October 20th. This is with a very heavy heart, as I have been hosting for no less than 15+ years! But there’s something fundamentally wrong with the way the changes are being made. It’s not about the amount, which is small for what you get, it’s the ideology. I hope to someday see myself back here, but for now it is a grand goodbye from me! I have emailed with the support team without getting any closer to an understanding, and from that I have ended my subscription. According to Couchsurfing support, my last access will be on October 20th. To all of you whom I’ll never meet - I am so sorry! Please keep travelling to continuously understand each other better, and let’s make this World a better place ❤️

————————————————————————————

‼️ We No longer accept requests for one night only! We feel like people are using Couchsurfing just to get a free stay lately. Arriving at midnight and leaving at 7am is not very inspiring: You ask us to get a bed ready for you, to stay up late to receive you, and you offer nothing in return, not even time for a conversation about your home country! Then you leave us with laundry and towels to wash for you, and a electricty bill for charging your phone as well as a water bill for the shower. Please consider what you bring to the community before you request a stay! If you just need a bed for the night, there are plenty of very nice, clean, and affordable hostels in Copenhagen if you are not contributing to the community ‼️

————————————————————————————🚫 I do NOT accept friend request from people who haven’t stayed with us or been in contact. Couchsurfing is NOT DATING - don’t ruin it!!! ⛔️ ————————————————————————————➡️⬅️ Coming & going: When you request for a stay as a couchsurfer, you request to be part of our life for a few days. Being part of our life often means leaving no later than 7am on weekdays as we are off to work, 10 on Saturdays, and you will leave as we do. If you have nowhere else to go, there’s a really nice breakfast café nearby and a good library - both open at that time. You may get back in as we return, which is usually around 7pm, but can be as late as midnight. Around a week before you arrive we will send you a time schedule for your stay so you know what to expect, and if possible we will ask your plans ahead to try to schedule this with you. If this part of my profile doesn’t suit you, please don’t request to stay with us, thank you! 😊🙏———————————————————————————— 💦🚰 Tap water is always safe to drink in Denmark! Don’t waste money on bottled water, but do bring a reusable bottle for your own convenience.

Options in walking distance from where we live - Søborg Hovedgade

🍷🍾 Wine: Small wine-bar/wine café, Søborg Vinhus. It’s a very nice, small place with a single owner and a good selection. Ask him anything about wine to start a good conversation. Indoor/outdoor seating.

🥂 🍵 Restaurants : There are quite a few! We are in a long street of options, but most are pizza places, cafés, and the like. For fine dining we can recommend you places in Copenhagen or Hellerup. Best one in walking distance is called Madhus24, they serve nice, simple food with Danish origin and you can eat outside in the evening sun. Nok Thai is just across the street and serves good Thai food. For sushi I recommend Nano Sushi, burgers I recommend Cali Burger Joint. For pizza there’s a propper, Italian pizza place close by (I will add the name).

☕️🧁 Cafés: ShaBaz for coffee, homemade juice, salad, rye bread & boild eggs, cake and sandwiches, also suitable for kids, morning sun. Espresso House for coffee, cake and sandwich (it’s a Swedish chain), kids okay, afternoon sun. Madhus24 for everything from breakfast to dinner or a glass of wine/beer in the sun and brunch on the weekends, kids okay, afternoon sun.

🥐🥨 Bakeries: Granny’s House, they also do brunch and simple food. I find it a little pricy, but it’s very popular and has a backyard garden, suitable for kids, play area. Lagkagehuset, they also do sandwich and coffee, too, suitable for kids. Oliver’s Bakery, more traditional, cake, sandwich and coffee, best for takeaway, large playground near by.

🍦🍧: Famous ice cream open all year round: Ismageriet, suitable for kids (and adults!), afternoon sun in the front, courtyard with morning sun, 11am-10pm (might have a waiting line, bring patience!).

🫐🥫 Supermarkets: We have almost everything in walking distance: Rema1000, Coop365, Irma, Aldi, Netto, Meny, and just a little further: Lidl. Most are open until 10pm on weekdays and open on weekends, closed on public holidays.

💉💊 Pharmacy: About 10 minutes walk; Søborg Apotek. For 24h service you need to go to Steno in Copenhagen by central station.

Favourite restaurants and cafés in Hellerup - short bike ride:

🥂🍽 Rosé Rosé: Needs booking in advance. Fun on a Friday evening when it’s very busy and everyone is having a good time. It has a bar if you just fancy a drink, Serves outside, too, with heaters. Lots of locals!

⚓️🦪 Address: It’s right on the water, huge windows, nice view. It has a bar with a fireplace if you just fancy a glass of wine and maybe some oysters or olives, and offers propper restaurant dining for a nice evening dinner.

🌳🌺 Øregaardsparken museum and café, it’s inside a park and perfect on a sunny day. Nice cakes, salads, coffee, wine and more. Daytime only, also open on weekends.

🥞🍒 Wulff & Konstali: Good for brunch, as you get to choose your own combinations of dishes. Open all day for all meals and has a bakery outlet, too. It’s inside a shopping mall, but also offers outdoor seating.

Things to do where we live:

🛍🛒 Shopping in Søborg Hovedgade, a few second hand stores, too. IKEA is a short biking distance.
📖☕️ Visit a Library - Dyssegård- Vangede - Hellerup are all near by. Some offer cafés and all have international sections and computers available.
🌿🌳 Spend time in nature. Utterslev Mose is literally just outside the door and offers an up to about 10km walk with lakes, birds, wild horses and more, and you can adjust how many lakes you walk, coffee trucks will sell coffee along the way on weekends. Dyssegårdsparken is between us and the station, and a nice, small park for a walk or to sit in the sun and read. It offers an outdoor training gym free to use and a playground.
🌊🏖 Beach and ocean is a short biking distance, Hellerup or Svanemøllen Beach are the closest. People do winter bathing, too. Charlottenlund Fort is an old fortress by the beach, and also offers a restaurant and ice cream (as well as camping in season).
🎬🍿 Hellerup Movie House is a very nice cinema a short bike ride away. They offer a café with simple food and sell coffee and wine that you are allowed to bring inside with you.
🧬🔬Experimentarium is a fun science museum in Hellerup (just by the cinema) and also has the most amazingcopper staircase worth a visit on its own, as well as a roof top.
🪦🌸 Mindelunden is a historical WW2 memorial in Hellerup. Bispebjerg Kirkegaard is a large cemetery with a cherry blossom alley in season, very close to the beautiful church Grundtvigs Kirke. The two are in opposite directions of each other.
🏊‍♀️🩱Go swimming at Kildeskovshallen, it’s a small, indoor pool close to Gentofte City Hall, biking distance.
🧭🗺 Go North. Visit Arne Jacobsen architecture, visit Dyrehaven nature park with deers, go to the amusement park Bakken, spend time on Bellevue beach, visit Skovshoved, visit the harbour area and hang outs for swimming, cafés and more, rent horses at Fortunen and go for a forest ride, visit harness racing arena Charlottenlund Travbane to experience the oldest horse racing arena in all of the Nordic couriers, visit Ordrupgaard art museum, take the train to Louisiana, and more! Please do ask, and we will help you plan. It’s an alternative to going into Copenhagen, as it is the opposite direction and will be a full day, but not much further. Both can be reached by bike. Going further North by train offers among other cities Helsingør with all of its castles, history, marine museum, shopping and more, as well as a short boat ride to Helsingborg in Sweden (less than an hour by boat) and the opportunity to visit both cities in one day.

Newspaper recommendations for Copenhagen:

https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2022/oct/17/a-locals-guide-to-copenhagen-denmark-viking-treasure-wild-swimming-and-secret-dancefloors?fbclid=IwAR3M0M2lRBwIvgPwbtI15IrlJa46r874ofSfH71akgNfkRLif2iLBLIFO3A

My fille on Copenhagen: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1yYJrpernV99SHxOVaARnuBWtvaSQCUcWjnFAUUqpMe4/

————————————————————————————

👩🏻‍💻 I work with PR + Events. In my spare time I drive horses, seek cultural experiences, do walks in nature, travel, and hang out with friends. I love art, music, fish & vegetarian food, great and unexpected experiences and just everything good in life.

🧒🏼👦🏽🧑🏻I am a mother of 3 young children who live with me, although one is spending a year in boarding school and only at home sometimes. My sons speaks English as well as Danish.

🐕🐾 We have a small and (sometimes) well-behaved dog, who likes to sleep in the bed - sometimes she’ll decide to stay with a guest, too.

🏘🏢 Our home is as small as the dog, but cozy. Our home is non-smoking. It’s a 3rd floor apartment, and offers elevator and a balcony.

💖🌞 Happy with life, and always busy. When I travel it’s often for work and easily gets lonely, so I prefer Couchsurfing to hotels if possible. When I travel for leisure I love meeting new people and do cultural exchanges, too.

Interests

Harness racing

  • horse racing
  • life
  • horse riding
  • people
  • meeting new people
  • good conversation
  • having fun
  • the unexpected
  • harness racing

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Western Sahara, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Felicia’s full profile.