Felix Cameron's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Felix’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • I have been a graphic designer, photographer, and an elec...
  • yes, I am educated!
  • From Warrandyte, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore some of the quieter and less visited parts of Europe with 'Nina' our Russian sidecar motorcycle -- get out and see the world but this time with my girlfriend Felicity!

ABOUT ME

I am 24 years old, healthy, usually am smiling and usually very happy. I have an optimistic and cheerful character, always happier to focus on positive aspects of anything and always looking to avoid conflict. My interests are in nature, camping, hiking, photography, biology, painting, technology, people, geography and the state of the world and all its inhabitants, and I enjoy reading practically anything, fact or fiction. I spent most of 2006 sailing in a small trimaran yacht from Sydney up to the Great Barrier Reef and back, living off fresh fish and diving for most of the day. I Then spent six months in 2007/2008 Hitch hiking and Couch Surfing through Europe in Winter. Sailing and hitch hiking has taught me to slow down and take things as they come, in other words, to be very laid back. Sometimes I can be bouncing with life and energy, but often I am also reasonably calm and quiet. I can also be a bit shy sometimes. I am travelling Europe for a year starting February 2010 with my girlfriend Felicity, and have found a nice old Ural sidecar motorcycle to take us on our adventure. Our travels can be followed here:
My Travel Blogs

PHILOSOPHY

I live to be happy (when I can be, which is almost all the time!) and learn from the times I can't. I have a strong sense of responsibility towards nature / the environment, and the welfare of all people regardless of their circumstance. I am very liberal in my political views, but rather traditional in my idea of love and romance. I do try to live every day like it will be my last :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I travelled Europe Couch Surfing as much as possible, never needing to stay in a hotel or hostel once in six months. It is one of the nicest ways to meet fascinating, kind hearted people and see the world -- both through my eyes and also through the eyes and lives of those people with whom I have stayed. I made lots of new friends who I can't wait to see again, and am hoping some will come and surf my couch when I am home in Melbourne again. I have hosted many CS'ers now, hoping to give back to others the beautiful gift of welcoming hospitality and friendship as it was given to me. Now I will be travelling again, hoping to continue my CS'ing adventures!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have stayed with wonderful people across Europe with Couch Surfing while Hitch-hiking around for six months, and it has been endless fun, a character building experience and has left me with a trail of wonderful new friends! I have also hosted many CS's over almost a year, sometimes with 2-9 guests at a time sharing my simple but beautiful Melbourne life. I have had only positive experiences with Couch Surfing and don't expect this to change!
I have also traveled in Australia often making new friends and sleeping on their couches for a night or two. My adventure on a yacht for most of 2006 began, like so many adventures, with surfing someones couch, then their yacht, and then the waves of the Barrier Reef.. We even got shipwrecked on a tropical island with Rum brewing locals, a pirate tale to tell you from your couch :)

Interests

Photography, my friends, Art, Football (we call it 'soccer' in Australia), nature, wine, beer, traveling, my old mini panel van (my car), my very extensive family, politics, geography, history, computers, technology, electronics, fishing, hiking, swimming (for fun, not competitively), bicycle riding, music..

  • fish
  • arts
  • singing
  • photography
  • environment
  • wine
  • beer
  • electronics
  • yachting
  • politics
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • biology
  • geography
  • history
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Into The Wild, reading David Attenborough's autobiography 'Life on Air', Uncle Tungsten, Harry Potter, Tintin, Asterix, New Scientist, Chocky, The Andromeda Strain, Moomintrol books, Robert Ludlum, Motorcycle Diaries, Walk the Line, music too diverse and scattered to begin to list...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been circled by sharks while watching Giant Turtles and listening to whales singing. All while traveling for almost a year like a Gypsy with a yacht instead of a caravan.

Teach, Learn, Share

People can often tell if you do not trust them, and often respond by being untrustworthy. So try to be trusting, and you will often be rewarded by their trust -- but always use common sense as well of course!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Felix’s full profile.

My Groups