Femke Nijsse's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Femke’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Climate physics graduate
  • From Middelburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A friend of me showed that the best way to introduce yourself is not by stating the usual (age, city, education, jobs etc), but instead by telling about your parents and how they raised you. My parents both grew up on farms and profited from the Dutch emancipation wave in the sixties and seventies to study. As such, they always provided me and my elder brother freedom to roam around and experiment in life.

With this background it was quite natural for me to become interested in various perspectives and cultures. This interest in society is also the reason I like to travel in non-touristic ways by meeting locals. Historical gems usually don't tell much about the current society.

In my spare time I also enjoy doing sports. I love hiking, swimming and cycling through nature. As a Dutch person, I'm impressed by every non-flat surface out there, which makes the world a very beautiful one.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know more about the lives of people in different parts of the world compared to a 'superficial' touristic visit.

Interests

  • cats
  • dancing
  • harp
  • fantasy books
  • economic justice

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Loads and loads, fantasy, sci-fi, popular science:
Terry Pratchett, Thea Beckman, Ursela le Guin, GRR Martin, Pikkety
Music: Regina Spektor, Bjork, Cocorosie, Pink Floyd, Queen
Movies/Series: Fight Club, the Reader, House, Game of Thrones

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories about science, physics, amazing books I've read and politics.

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Femke’s full profile.

My Groups