Ilmari Määttänen's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilmari’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 22 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning French, Spanish, Swedish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Research in the University of Helsinki and Helsinki Insti...
  • High School 1999-2002, Uni Helsinki 2002-2008, Cognitive ...
  • From Helsinki
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to finish my PhD studies

ABOUT ME

I was born in Finland and like my country; still I feel comfortable around the world, in fact I am addicted to travelling. Not only travelling per se, but also everything that comes with it.

I am a lacto-ovo-vegetarian, but usually it is not a problem (=you don't have to worry about that). I eat fish sometimes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am relatively new here, but I have hosted people and been hosted myself, several times before.

Interests

travelling and sometimes some of the following: photography, writing, socialising, sports training, animals, nature...

  • animals
  • fish
  • writing
  • photography
  • vegetarian
  • yachting
  • traveling
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

movie: Apocalypse. Now (Redux);
book: J. Diamond:Guns, Germs and Steel;
music: Scissor Sisters, British music, currently -- ?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I recommend these:

-Snorkle in Perhentian Islands, Malaysian north-east-coast (before the coralls will die from there as well...)

-experience Finnish seasons (well, actually at least summer, except for the moskitos)

-cross the Atlantic with a sail yacht (fun and terrible at the same time)

-sleep under the open sky in as many places as you can

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Anguilla, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Finland, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilmari’s full profile. It’s free!