Fiona Karl's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Kindergarten teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

puuh let me think about that.... okay no idea...

ABOUT ME

Describing myself is probably the worst thing ever but here we go. I am 21, studying Anthropolgy in Vienna and working as kindergarten teacher part time. Being responsible for a bunch of tiny humans is a pretty fun part time job to have while studying, but I'm probably the most clumsy and unorganized person on earth, so it's only a matter of time until I get fired because I accidentally forgot a child in the park or something. But anyways, then I'll just persue a career in Anthropology... HAHA...great joke, I know.

Since I'm terrible at writing stuff about me I'll just quote what some of my friends say:
"Always has food in her hands and if not you can be sure there are at least 7 tiny lunchboxes of weird dried fruit in her backpack that she will offer to anyone who only looks slightly sad or hungry"
" She snores like an old obese man so good luck to everyone sleeping on her couch"
"Be careful when she shows you around the city because she has a very questionable sense of orientation"
"Who wants wine? Stupid questiong, Fiona here you are, you always want wine"

Okay maybe I should go back to actually describing myself on my own.
In 1st grade I had to write down my hobby and I said it's jumping. Not even on a trampoline or anything, just plain jumping. I guess I'll stick with that.

I'm a very optimistic, easy going and spontaneous person (and all the other slightly boring but nonetheless true adjectives that most people on cs describe themeselves as) with a slight addiction to good books and coffee. I love travelling (duh), meeting different people and trying new things (especially food (but after tasting 1000 years old eggs in China I'm not so sure about that anymore).

PHILOSOPHY

I'd rather do stuff than have stuff!

People are strange: They are constantly angered by trivial things, but on a major matter like totally wasting their lives, they hardly seem to notice.
-Charles Bukowski

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

How could anyone not be?

Interests

Travelling, reading, music, politics, sustainablity, riding my bike, food, coffee, talking and cider (in combination with great people and a summer night)

  • fish
  • writing
  • books
  • singing
  • dining
  • wine
  • coffee
  • clothing
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • backpacking
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • anthropology
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Ben Howard, Mumford and Sons, The Lumineers, Edward Sharp and the magnetic Zeros, Hozier, Beirut, Bastille, Passenger, AnnenMayKantereit, Ed Sheeran, Of Monsters and Men, Matt Corby, Bon Iver, Steaming Satellites, Xavier Rudd,.....

Books: 1984, Brave New World, Desert Flower, The Parfum, ........ woaahh there are waaay to many good books I'm not even going to try to continue this list.

Movies:
for some reason I really hardly know any movies but I like watching Dokumentaries and the movies Frances Ha and Before Sunrise are really amazing. Oh now I remember one awesome movie, it's probably the funniest and best documenatries ever made: The Yes Men are Revolting. You should go and watch it right now!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

laying in a fiel in Nepal waiting so see my first shooting star on, I hitched a ride from the nepalese military when I tried to hitchhike throw the country, had a snowballfight in August on top of a clacier, snorkeld next to dolphins in the red sea, bought the most amazing peanut butter ever from amish people in Ohio, I accidentally stepped on a huuuge skate fish when I went swimming at night and thought I'm beeing attacked my a shark (that was not amazing at all, it was the worst day for me and the fish, I don't even know why I'm writing about this here) made a bunch of groundhog friends (thanks to a big bag of hazelnuts) somewhere in the Alps in Austria, walked through central park in New York, Interrail trip with my best fried/singing and playing the ukulele on long train rides which probably annoyed everyone very much, strolled trough the valley of the Kings in Egypt - saw the Sphinx and climed into some of the pyramids (very creepy)

What I Can Share with Hosts

My very messy but charming appartment, humor and stories. and the more practical things like wine, a washing machine and food (which usually comes from when we steal what the supermarkets throw away at night)

Also have a sewing machine to fix your ripped travelling clothes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Luxembourg, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!