Logo orange

Ximena Gonzalez

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ximena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 33 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 76, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • University, life experiences...
  • From Iquique, Chile
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn all i can...

ABOUT ME
little update: i left my job and travelling at the moment
i'm originally from Chile, 6 years ago i moved to Toronto, Canada and my whole life changed, I've never been exposed to such multiculturalism before, it took some getting used to but I'm loving it and now I can say I'm a proud Torontonian :)
i love a good laugh and seeing my friends often, taking photos, meeting new people, new cultures and places, languages and being active, im a bit injured at the time so i had to slow down. I like simple things in life, being outdoors, unexpected road trips, little obstacles that teach you something...we are here to learn anyway ;)

PHILOSOPHY

Don't tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you traveled - Mohammed
Try everything once
Be to one place I've never been to before, every year
Dont miss today's opportunity to make a change for the better on someone's life
getting lost will help you find yourself

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love meeting new people, learning new languages and just understanding different cultures...I have an open minded approach and i keep thinking if you can put in some body else's shoes we should be able to understand each other better

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

**Update** I have hosted in my apartment people from Spain, Belgium, Germany, Denmark and Sweden, I have also been out for coffee and trying to stay active in the TO-CS community, I've met so many cool, interesting people that i wish i did this sooner!!

Interests

sustainability, recycling, politics, current news, policies, history, food security, urban farming/industrial farming (or how to figure out a way of having better practices on the production of food we are feeding to ourselves!)
i like photography and reading, of course traveling! being to new places every year.
My dog :)
kickboxing, biking, running, swimming...

Music, Movies & Books

I like Coelho's alchemist, some Dan brown books, i love reading history, spanish literature, and i'd actually read anything, right now stuck on "no impact man" and loving it, i will read "the girl"series next
I like mostly rock music, metal, alternative, electronic, in no particular order:

The Rolling Stones, Iron Maiden, Arcade Fire, Lamb of God, Rage Against the Machine, Depeche Mode, The Smiths, DYLAN, David Bowie, System of a Down, Moby, Travis, Coldplay, Metallica, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Foo Fighters, Miranda!, Joe Vasconcellos, Faith No More, Muse, The Cure, Morrissey, AC/DC, Mr. Bungle, Pearl Jam, Jack Johnson, Radiohead, Calamaro, Cerati, Killers, The Shins, Fiona Apple, Metric, Lou Reed and the velvet Underground.. and of course the BLUES...confusing eh? :D i just love music
Movies?? again, too many to say but a few include High Fidelity, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Run Lola Run, Memento, Trainspotting, Pink Floyd The Wall, V for Vendetta...and on TV i watch Weeds, Dexter, HIMYM, and I love documentaries :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Just taking my backpack and going traveling without reservations
Seeing Greenland's snowed mountains during sunset
Seeing the different arrange of colours of the driest desert in the world.
Connecting with people with a smile when you dont speak the same language :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach about fruits and vegetables, growing, soil, etc, share travel experiences and maybe help by giving advice about places ive been to...
I'm also pretty good on spanish grammar
I would like to learn more about photography and beer making :)

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Ireland, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Chile, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ximena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile