Samuel "Shaggy" James's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 25 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Bus Driver, Electrician, Volunteer Driving Instructor
  • High School & College (for electrician)
  • From Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Growing up as a kid I never really had an interest in travelling the world. I did get an opportunity to travel to Florida, USA for two weeks back in 1999 as part of a school excursion to watch Space Shuttle Discovery (STS-96) take off, which definitely was a trip of a lifetime and a story in itself!
I was like many kids, finishing school with no real idea of what I would like to do as a career. This is where joining the Volunteer Fire Brigade a few years before I left school came in, I would not be where I am today. It was the foundation for meeting the people I did and gaining the skills for future job opportunities.
In the 13 years in the Fire Brigade I completed school, an apprenticeship as an electrician and then went on to drive buses for a number of companies from school children to war widows and everything else inbetween.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Through my years as an Electrician and Bus Driver I have met countless people from all walks of life and every time I meet someone new, I just want to travel and experience other cultures, experience what they have to offer and be able to take something home with me, that you would not otherwise experience at home.

Travelling can also be expensive. It doesn't need to be. That's where I believe Couchsurfing comes in, just being able to have a roof over your head and somewhere to sleep is a huge in itself. Though I have never had the facilities to accommodate any Couchsurfers so far, eventually when I have finished my travels and settled down I definitely will be looking towards providing the facilities to accommodate travelers to my home in Australia.

Interests

I have always had an interest in electronics, computers (both Mac and PC) and other gadgets and how they work. If something is broken I will try and fix it myself.

  • photography
  • electronics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • puzzles
  • hiking
  • business
  • volunteering
  • bushwalking

Music, Movies, and Books

I am an all rounder when it comes to music, including classical! Though my least favourite would probably be really heavy metal.

Movies, an all rounder again and will watch pretty much anything, as long as it has English subtitles if not spoken in English.

I am not a huge reader, I have read a few books over the years. I am thinking maybe now that I will be travelling I will be more inclined to read more books?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Been in Space Shuttle Discovery on the launch pad the day before the launch.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, Philippines, Poland, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.