Laura Kettner's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 7% response rate
  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Spanish; learning Chichewa, Chewa, Nyanja, French, German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • BA European Studies, MA Applied Linguistics (Dutch as a S...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Ground rules:
- only requests with a date

Safe space for
- solo female travelers
- LGBTQI
- POC
- pro-choice/abortion
- those respecting local corona regulations (max 1 visitor, 10pm curfew, 1,5m social distance, quarantine with symptoms)
- neurodiversity and differently abled but please note:

I'm really sorry, no wheelchair access!

No space for
- sex/drug/party tourism (book a hostel not a home if you're here solely to get high)
- homophobia, ableism and racism
- conspiracy theories and antivax-activism (I'm open minded bit not willing to risk others mental and physical health)
- dating/hookups

Now the good stuff: I am a 35 year old Amsterdamese teacher of Dutch as a Second Language to adult learners. I love traveling and have been to over 30 countries, but I also like to see my own city and country through the eyes of a traveler. For me, overland travel is the ultimate peace of mind. It allows me to sit still and relax, while moving forward at the same time. With hardly any effort and nowhere else I can be. I'm even a person that actually enjoys waiting, as long as it's for something good. I bring a book or a notepad, or I watch the people or the landscape gliding by. I love my job too. I get to meet so many people and hear so many interesting stories. I also really enjoy my students being able to make their first full sentence, getting to the point of understanding their first joke in Dutch, or making one. I am constantly looking for ways to be a better teacher.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to occasionally host someone, especially friends of friends or people with common interests. I also love to meet local people while I'm traveling. A common language is not a necessity, as long as there's the will to communicate and have a good time together. I love solo traveling and I think couch surfing is a great way to experience the places I visit.

Interests

  • writing
  • literature
  • architecture
  • yoga
  • running
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • scuba diving
  • history
  • cinema
  • nature
  • learning languages
  • teaching languages
  • learning
  • forró
  • forró dancing
  • afro dance
  • brazilian funk

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Magical realism, biographies, coming of age, historical fiction, strong female characters. I try to read a book from every country in the world, tips very welcome

Music: Anything with a good rhythm or melody and preferably strong lyrics. No absolute favorites, but some musicians I like include Eels, Bloc Party, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Arcade Fire, the Black Keys, the Cure, the Smiths, Radiohead, Manu Chao, Che Sudaka, Natiruts, Yemi Alade, Bongeziwe Mabandla.

Movies: Coen Brothers, Pedro Almodovar, Wes Anderson, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, and many more. Any genre as long as it's not too predictable or vague.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taught people from over 70 different countries a new language.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Dutch.
I would like to learn some of your language or some recipes from your culture.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook for you, I can teach you Dutch, I can be your dive buddy or we can go for a hike or a run together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Northern Ireland, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile.