Florence Zhang's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florence’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Yue (Cantonese); learning French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Enrolled in a PhD programme in law
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I'm a PhD student in Beijing, studying international law, while my family lives in Guangzhou and I grew up there. But currently I am staying in the Hague for a short-time international law course. Traveling around for a couple of years, I love meeting and talking with people from different cultures.

I am an outgoing girl with an enthusiasm for anything novel to me!

PHILOSOPHY

Always embrace the diversity of this lovely fantastic world. Everybody has his/her own living philosophy. Every life style should be respected (provided that it does not harm anybody else), no matter how different from my own.

SORRY that at present I am not able to host anybody, because I live in a rented room of a house with the landlord family, and we have too many housemates living together. But I might be able to host you when going back to Beijing after this summer, welcome to the capital of China!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been knowing about Cs for over 5 years, back to the day when I was an exchange student in Singapore in 2009. Unfortunately, previously I haven't participated in any Cs events. But now I'm starting to explore the world through Cs, with the very first step of re-registering here.

To meet new friends, to hang out and explore various cultures, and to share our views and life experiences. Surely my Cs adventure will be fantastic!

Interests

I am a big fan of baking. I love sweeties. Making desserts and sharing these things I love with the ones I love is an extraordinary happiness to me. Cooking also constitutes an essential part of my life, and I collect recipes through all possible ways. I'd love to cook a meal for my host if there're any space possible!

I love dancing as well, as I've been learning Chinese dance ever since the age of five. I spent some time learning Rumba, Salsa and other kinds of dance, but my favourite is still traditional Chinese dance and Chinese folk dance.

Another important part of my life is to go to theatre and opera house. My most favourite musical in London West is Lés Misérable, which is just...amazing with every single part!

Traveling is the most attractive stuff to me, and I've been traveling to a few places as a back-packer. The way on the road is always fantastic, that I may explore how beautiful the world is, and how amazing different cultures, even different ones inside China, would be.

  • culture
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • chinese food
  • desserts
  • baking
  • exercise
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • opera
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

If I pick up one movie and book to be the favourite, that would definitely be Harry Potter! The first time I met Harry Potter was at the year of 2001, when I watched the movie of "Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets". It was so fascinating that shortly after I found the first and second Harry Potter books to read. Following that was 9 years of going with the subsequent books and movies. Soooo, I love Harry Potter!

To be honest, I don't really listen much music, but my favourite singer is Eason Chan from Hong Kong. Others whose music I have in my iphone include Keren Ann (my favourite chanson singer), Maroon 5, John Mayer, Nicholas Tse etc. and a lot of Chinese singers.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking in Daocheng, Sichuan province, which is known as the "last Shangri-la" in south-western China. Fulfilled a little horse-riding journey to cross the non-habitants area and the "death valley", with local Tibetants' guidance of course.

Traveled alone to Philippines at the age of 18. Explored the amazing Bohol Island, and did my first snockering and diving at the amazing diving places of Balicassag!

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been learning French since 2011, and this is definitely one of the most beautiful language in the world. Due to the lack of exercise, my French is hopeless. But I would much love to talk to you in French if you don't mind my pool oral French.

I can teach you about cooking nice Chinese food, dumplings or others, Chinese dessert, and some kinds of other desserts.

I can share as much travel experience and local Chinese culture (especially culinary culture!) as I can.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can share the places we've been and people we've met.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Germany, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, Singapore

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Hong Kong, Singapore, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Florence’s full profile. It’s free!