Florian Euringer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Hindi, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 68, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • IT, writer, Astrologer, practioner of Naturopathy
  • High Shool
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

As a youth I had no idea where to go. After High School I entered a commune with lots of ideals, like creating a new man, without fear, inhibitions, free love and no private property. These are difficult propositions and so we failed but no without learning a lot.
In 1982 I met my Indian Guru and lived with him from 1982 until 1985 in India. I studied Indian astrology, music, meditation, massage, Ayurveda und dreamwork. Im 1986 I wrote a book about Indian Astrology, which was published in the same year. Two more books were written and one published, all about my favourite subject: Indian Astrology.
1988 I met my lovely wife Barbara and embarked on a more reputable lifestyle, since my later wife wanted children and a more settled life. I researched my marketable skills and found that my IT-Knowledge could be monetized most easily. I did work in the IT industry as a programmer, then Networkadmin and finally as a database administrator till 2018.
From 1982 onwards I have a regular meditation practice, which chanced for a Vipassana-Style Meditation, when in 2015 I visited my first 10 days Vipassana-Meditation-Course.

Since 2021 I am retired, my 2 children are grown up and my generous wife allowed me to travel the world, which I could not do before, caused by the restriction of work and family life.
In 2022 I lived at a Buddhistic Monastery in Sri Lanka for 6 weeks as a novice.
In 2023 I did spend 3 weeks in WAT PAH NANACHAT The International Forest Monastery of Ajahn Cha and did study their interpretation of Buddhas teachings.
In 2023 my dear wife died and now I have to reinvent myself one more time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet people and exchange emotions and opinions.

Interests

  • yoga
  • meditation
  • music
  • opera
  • backpacking
  • travel
  • hicking
  • love
  • qigong
  • fado
  • pilgrimage
  • saudad
  • (lucid) dreaming

Music, Movies, and Books

all operas from Puccini and Wagner, and many other operas and classical works.
any music in general.
Portugiese Fado, e.g. Medo (Fear ) Mariza

Series: "The OA", "Severance", "Band of brothers","True detective 1"

Films: "Groundhog Day", "Aliens 2", "36 chambers of shaolin", "Star Wars 4" ...

Books: "Jim Knopf und Lukas der Lokomotivführer (Jim Button and Luke the Engine Driver), Michael Ende" "Siddharta, Hesse", "À la recherche du temps perdu, Proust", "Der futurologische Kongreß (Kongres futurologiczny) Stanislaw Lem", " journey to ixtlan, Carlos Castaneda", "Autobiography of a Yogi, Yogananda"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

met beautiful people, full of wisdom and love, in life and in dreams.
conversed with dead people, with god (once) and a inhabited a cat (also once).
seen an eagle of sparks raising from a holy fire.
seen a 5000 year old tomb raising from the ground of a desert.
seen children coming in this world.
seen my mother leaving this world.
seen the sparkle of love in the eyes of my beloved.
To be continued…

Teach, Learn, Share

A discussion without words,
love without toch,
longing without object.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help with IT related problems.
I can clean up the bathroom,
buy food
cook (not an expert, but basic stuff is OK)
taking you out for breakfast/lunch/dinner
I could read your horoscope.
give you a small farewell gift as a tolken of gratitude,
share silence or try to interact with words.
play a game of chess or poker or any other game.
share with you a local music/theatre performance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Egypt, England, France, Hungary, India, Israel, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Portugal, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.