Florian Gruhl's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 103 references 86 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German; learning English, Polish, Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • German teacher
  • Bachelor in sociology and political science
  • From Hanover, Lower Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling through Ukraine :)

ABOUT ME

I'm not good at describing myself so I asked a friend of mine to describe me. That is what she wrote:

"Florian cares for his friends more than for himself and looks after them when they need him. Moreover he is very energetic and engages for different organizations and groups. You can rely on him, because he always keeps his word. He has strong beliefs and likes to discuss with others about them for example topics like cattle breeding or capitalism."

PHILOSOPHY

"Who fights can lose, who doesn't fight has already lost" (Bertolt Brecht)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing and hosting :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I surfed already in Berlin, Dublin, Katowice, Gdańsk, Łódż, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Buenos Aires, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Split, Belgrad, Almaty, Astana and Shymkent. It was a great experience for me every single time and I met so many nice people on my travels :)

Unfortunately I didn't host too many people yet. My first surfer was a guy from Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. I also hosted people from Israel and a girl from Turkey. Very nice people :) Really wanna host more people, especially international ones!

Interests

I am politically interested and used to be engaged in a lot of different political groups. Since I've been living in Poland I'm not too much politically active anymore unfortunately, just going to some demonstrations or manifestations from time to time. The problem is that my Polish isn't good enough (yet) to join a party or other political group. But probably in a few years I'm going to join the left-winged party "razem" because their political programme is quite similar to my views and convictions. However, I'm not sure about that yet.
In my free time I like to hang out with my friends and to go to parties or concerts from time to time ;) I'm working in Wrocław as a German teacher, one could say that this is also my hobby somehow. I've been always interested in languages, I only know three so far (German, English and Polish) but I'm planning to learn Russian and Serbo-Croatian as well sometime. Also I am interested in photography. I'm not that good in it but I am gettin better I think. Moreover I like discussions and endless talks about everybody and his dog.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Punkrock, Ska, Oi!, Hardcore, Electro, Dubstep, Hip-Hop, Techno, Trance
Films: Fight Club, Pulp Fiction, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
Books: anything by Terry Prattchet and Douglas Adams and of course political books, e.g. by Chris Harman or Pierre Bourdieu

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

First of all I've to mention an amazing guy in London. He is a street musician and animates the people to sing and dance together. Me and my best friend met him at Leicester Square and we sang some songs together, that was really cool :)
Another impressive "moment" was my trip to Krzyżowa in Poland in the 10th form. The pupils we met there were very nice and friendly, I never met such kind and lovely people before :) The hospitality impressed me so much that I fell in love with this country, travelled there many times again, did my ERASMUS there and finally even moved here in 2015. I don't know where destiny will lead me in my life but at least right now I'm not planning to go away from here.
Another amazing moments:
Jumping out of an aeroplane on my 22nd birthday
Getting drunk on the Pushkinsky Pedestrian Bridge in Moscow in 2014

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to play the recorder and how to open a bottle of beer with almost any object (except of teeth, I'm afraid of doing that^^), even with a piece of paper xD
aaand of course some German if you like ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food, stories, travel experiences, alcohol and other drugs (only legal ones of course!) ;D

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.

My Groups