Florian Mehling's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 47 references 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Validation Engineer
  • Mechanical Engineer (Diploma)
  • From Wasserlosen, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

My wife and I currently live in Shanghai. After our 13 months world trip (2014-2015) our next target was to work abroad which came into action in April 2019. Since then we´ve been enjoying Shanghai and China as much as we can.
We are both very open minded and used couchsurfing a lot during our world trip. That´s the way how you can get in touch with the locals and get most out of the country.
Now it's our turn to pay back all the nice places we experienced through CS. Hope we can help out some travellers who are looking for a couch.
PHILOSOPHY

In 20 years from now on you won't regret the things you did do but the things you didn't do!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CS is a great way to get in touch with the local people of the country/town and get pretty good insiders (what to do and what to see and most important, how their point of view is regarding some topics about their country). In my opinion you get more from the culture of a country by staying with some nice people who live there. You can´t say you experienced a country without living with the local people. That´s also one of the reasons we moved abroad to get most of the country. Not visiting a place but living the place.

Interests

I like to drive my motorbike and my mountainbike in summer. In winter I always go snowboarding. It is very nice to meet new people and I love to travel. We both like diving and when it fits to our target country we always go under water to explore the under water world :)

Music, Movies, and Books

Expendables I,II
Taken I,II, III
Bud Spencer and Terence Hill (who does not love those guys)
Die Hard I-V

Rock, Classic Rock

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I did a motorbike tour through Italy and we drove 1800 miles in only 6 days and we visited the Gardasee, Pisa and Venedig.
My greatest experience I guess is the internship I did in the US for six month. Following by the one year trip which I did one year after the US. During that time we snorkeled with whale sharks in Australia, climed Mt. Fuji in Japan, ate steak in Kobe, Japan (~95USD/100g).
I think my latest amazing experience is that we moved to Shanghai and will stay here for a couple years. As we love to enjoy the culture (no matter what country we are going) we also learn Chinese language (incl. Characters writing and reading)

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to talk about traveling with very experienced people. They have so many interesting things to tell and so much great useful information. I also like to share my experiences which hopefully helps others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel stories, some Chinese lesson as we are learning pretty hard on it at the moment

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Netherlands, North Korea, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Florian’s full profile.