Logo orange

Floriane Dion

Guelph/Eramosa, Ontario, Canada

Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Floriane's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 21, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • wwoof'er & fille aupair & aspiring g...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.

ABOUT ME

I like adventures and am always seeking out new activities to try. I get bored easily therefore change is something I relish.

My favourite food is banana splits. And I make the best pad thai you will ever try.

I'm not complicated and I adapt easily to the people and situations surrounding me.

The word "hate" is one I try to keep out of my vocabulary.

I love a good laugh, like any sane person, and occasionally make my own joke or two.

*

NOTE: For me Couchsurfing is a website to develop relationships with fellow travelers and allow me to experience a country's culture through the eyes of a local. It is not a dating website. If that is your main interest than please don't involve me in it.

PHILOSOPHY

" The secret of happiness is freedom, and the secret of freedom, courage. " Thucydides

" Life is short, so love the one you got. Cause you might get run over or you might get shot. " Sublime

" One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time. " André Gide

" Life is one big road with lots of signs, so when you're riding through the ruts, don't you complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy! Don't bury your thoughts; put your vision to reality. Wake up and live. " Bob Marley

Interests

I love the outdoors. I spend my summer either on my horses back exploring the forest or in my kayak exploring rivers and lakes. I enjoy winter sports like cross country ski, snow shoeing, snow boarding and downhill skiing. I spent a good four years in sailing camp and was lucky enough to be able to go sailing whenever I pleased as I lived beside a lake for many years. I also enjoy outdoor and indoor rock climbing. In my spare time I practice yoga and teach the occasional lesson to kids.

I am fully bilingual in french and english. I aspire to learn german and spanish as my third and fourth languages. Eventually using these languages to help me build a career.

In my hometown in Canada I did touristic horse and buggy tours, it was an awesome way to meet people from all over the world and introduce them to my beautiful town. Not to mention I got to spend the day with my horse. I have also worked in my father's cafe for many years as a cook, server and hostess. The cafe doubles as an art gallery as well, every month we show art from a different local artist. Thanks to that I have grown up with an appreciation for art, especially photography. My father has been traveling to Nicaragua for the past 5 years where he works on his friend's coffee plantation, this also gave me a whole new out look on traveling.

I am spending one year in Europe. 6 of those months will have been devoted to working as a fille aupair in France and the rest spent backpacking. Eventually I would like to take my travels to Central / Southern America and Asia.

When I get back to Canada I plan to continue my education in either Geography or Geology. I hope to either attend school in the West in Vancouver or in Montreal where I can continue using my french language skills.

Music, Movies & Books

Everything and anything.

Indie, Chillstep, Electro/trance/deephouse, Folk, Alternative:

Yukon Blonde, Ben Howard, Bon Iver, The xx, Mount Kimbie, Dream Koala, Local Natives, Devandra Banhart, Black Keys (but their older albums like Thickfreakness),

Dash Berlin, Cosmic Gate, Armin Van Buuren, Robin Schluz, Genesis

I also love world music. African, Cuban, Reggae, etc:

Slightly Stoopid, Easy Star All Stars, Buena Vista Social Club, Manu Chao, Xavier Rudd

I'm also a sucker for old school music:

Bille Holiday, Ray Charles, Doors, Led Zeppelin, America, Paul Simon, Neil Young

And that is just to name a few. There are so so soo many more.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Skydiving proves to be the best experience I have had thus far. There is nothing like free falling towards the earth.

I recently had the chance to paraglide over the alpes. It was an extraordinary way to explore the mountains. To see them from a completely new dimension.

Camping in the North of Canada is always an amazing experience. No cellphones. Just nature, camp fires and lake to occupy ourselves. With no one around for miles. For me that is bliss.

Teach, Learn, Share

Everything wonderful.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Serbia, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Floriane's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile