Florine van der Vlies's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Office Manager, Caterer
  • Art History, Journalism
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Me and my husband Thijs are two happy-go-lucky fools who converted a Renault Master (Rennie the van a.k.a Grandmaster Ren) into a home on wheels, planning on taking over the world in hiking shoes and matching raincoats (alright, not quite there yet but definitely working on that).
We sold our brick home, quit our jobs and took off at the beginning of May, had an amazing summer in the UK and are hoping to travel around for several years; learning new skills, climbing mountains, hiking, cooking, spending loads of time reading, meeting interesting new people, places and cultures and most of all: spend a lot of time together in the wild!
We're hard workers, both blessed with a very different skillset. Thijs used to work as a social worker with mentally challenged people, learning them how to maintain green areas, and acts as a parttime lumberjack for fun. I studied journalism and art history, but became an office manager for several years and had an adventurous (vegan) catering business on the side. We're in this for the long run (or at least, that's the plan) and love to see different parts of the world. We try to play our part in making the world a better place by volunteering, help preserving nature and do our best to raise awareness about the impact we have on the world. Therefore we decided to become vegan a while ago (no worries, we won't preach, promise!). We're looking for all kinds of places where we can expand our skillset through volunteer work, meet and cook for new friends and explore the surroundings in the meantime.

Our Instagram: @trailsndtraveltales

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In january we will leave our beloved van/home behind to start exploring different parts of the world with our backpacks! Because we want to travel as long as possible and found out that sharing spaces, ideas and drinks with strangers (or new friends) is superrewarding we would love to explore the world through couchsurfing!

Interests

Things we love: travelling, nature, hiking, cooking/eating/drinking (green tea, craft beers, whisky), music (trying to learn how to play the ukelele), festivals and concerts, making new friends, writing, and reading. Looking forward to meet some of you!

  • writing
  • books
  • music festivals
  • vegan
  • board games
  • blogging
  • music
  • hiking
  • eating
  • travelling
  • nature
  • craft beer
  • whiskey
  • climbing
  • vegan cooking
  • vanlife
  • climbing mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Where do you start with a question like this..

Bands: Incubus, Deftones, Nada Surf, The Libertines, Milburn, Keaton Henson, The Beatles, Blink 182, Spice Girls, and a whole bunch of lesser known obscure shit.
Books: for a book addict like me this is seriously impossible to answer. I know this much is true, a little life, everything written bij Nicollo Amaniti.
Movies: anything happy, adventurous, arthouse!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've sold everything to live my dream together with the one I love: travelling the world in a home on wheels.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a catering business and I love to share vegan/vegetarian cooking hacks and recipes. We both know a thing or two about great music and we have a bit of knowledge about a lot of stuff that we are happy to share. Also: very happy to share some dutch (curse) words.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Florine’s full profile.

My Groups