Floris Hammer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Floris’s full profile.


  • 30 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning French, Japanese
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Self-management coach
  • Astronomy
  • From Buren, Gelderland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Floris. I'm in love with life, discovering more and more of it. Have experienced a lot over the years and life keeps surprising me, mostly in a good way.

I started out on a pretty standard path; good education, nice jobs, marriage, house, beautiful daughter. Already during that I went on some adventures, like two longer stays in Japan (studying and working) and a six-month trip through (Southern and Eastern) Africa.

In the last seven or so years though (inevitably following life events such as a divorce and death of my father), I feel like a whole new dimension of life is opening up to me (or rather I'm opening up to it). Discovering meditation, yoga, retreats, trainings and reading tons (yes my mind is still my 'easiest' way to relate to the world, although my heart is catching up fast), I discover all the realms I didn't know about or actively denied in the past.

Currently I live as a part-time dad (Alina is 8, lives here half of the week), freelance consultant/coach in self-organization and reinventing organizations in the lovely town of Rijswijk (basically part of The Hague, close to Delft).

My partner Arabella just moved in from England and now lives here too. 😊

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first heard about couchsurfing from friends in Japan when it must have been just starting. In 2022 my former partner Becca shared some of her wonderful experiences with both hosting and surfing, and encouraged me to give it a try. (If you're ever in Exeter; Becca comes highly recommended :)

I'd love to share my cosy home, and also my daughter Alina loves company. Sharing food, stories, insights and experiences with people who need a place to stay sounds amazing.


  • yoga
  • meditation
  • hiking
  • nature
  • space
  • future of work
  • community
  • nvc
  • holacracy
  • reinventing organizations
  • self-management
  • spiral dynamics
  • enm
  • healing of love

Music, Movies, and Books

Music; a strange mix of pop, classical, spiritual music. Be prepared also for my daughter's quickly expanding playlist with an even stranger mix of everything from My Little Pony to Britney Spears...

Movies: all time favorite is "The Martian" (I am and always will be a nerd :)

- Neil Stephenson's Anathem is a wonderful mix of fantasy, philosophy and sci-fi, it blew my mind.
- Frederic Laloux's Reinventing Organizations was a breakthrough in me finding my purpose in work
- Several of Ken Wilber's books have transformed my outlook on the world

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travel from Cape Town to Kenya and back; 27 000 km in six months, camping in the most amazing places along the route in my Toyota Land Cruiser with rooftop tent.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to just talk and find mutual interests.

I can teach various things like offroad driving (still have that Land Cruiser ;), how to transform your workplace to a next-stage walhalla, or lawn mowing. When cirumstances (clouds and orbits) are favorable I can show you the planets and the moon in my telescope accompanied with some stories.

Conversations about personal development and spirituality are always welcome. Also, you're very welcome to join my morning yoga practice (maybe you can teach me :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my lovely space, with little garden that's sunny in summer, my presence, some meals. Just overall human connection.

On Mondays and Tuesdays and every other weekend Alina also shares her loving presence. She loves new adversaries or team mates in her games on the Nintendo Wii, pillowfights and general liveliness in her home :)

I'm at home quite a bit as I don't work every day and do a lot of my work from home. Pretty flexible, can show you around The Hague or Delft if it fits :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, China, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Kenya, Malawi, Morocco, Namibia, Norway, Rwanda, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Floris’s full profile.